Skip to main content

Russian and Slavonic Language and Literature: Journals

This guide aims to introduce library readers researching or studying Russian to essential library and electronic resources for the subject area.

Other guides on Russian and Slavonic journals

Digitized journals

Russian-language journals available on the Internet

Russian journals available on the web

Some Russian and Slavonic journal articles are available online via the web.

How to locate journal articles on Databases A-Z

If you are working from a reading-list and if you have a reference the first step is to go to Databases A-Z and select a bibliographical database.  The following databases have material relevant to Russian and Slavonic language and literature.  Most of the articles indexed in these databases will be in English and other European languages. 

Articles in English for journals published in North America are thoroughly indexed in ABSEES. Articles in English for journals published in North America and Western Europe including the UK can be found in the MLA. MLA also indexes some Russian journals.

Note: you can only find journal articles in these databases.  You will NOT find journal articles in the online library catalogue (unless you do a Journal articles search on SOLO!)

There is also one printed source that is still very useful (although not up-to-date):

Terry, Garth M. East European languages and literatures: a subject and name index to articles in English-language journals, festschriften, conference proceedings and collected papers Oxford: Clio Press; Nottingham: Astra Press, c1978- (=Z2487.E5.1979.T3=R) 

Finding Russian-language journal articles

Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei was the Soviet index of journal articles and continues to be used . Part of the run of  back-numbers index has been digitized and is available online: Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei (1956-1975).

All subject areas covered. Subject indexing based on Soviet BBK classification scheme (Bibliotechno-bibliograficheskaia klassifikatsiia).

Letopis' zhurnalynkh statei is currently available on the Russian National Bibliography (East View Online services). The printed volumes are available at the Bodleian (1938-2003) but not after 2003,.

CEEOL (Central and East European Online Library) Offers full-text access to journals in many subject areas including a few on language and literature. Very few Russian journals.