Skip to main content

Research Guide for Mathematics: Databases

Subjects: Mathematics

Search tips

Research databases are enabled on different search interfaces. Most of them support the following functions:

Advanced Search screen provides options for combining your keywords
Combine keywords using appropriate Boolean Operators (drop down menu)
Use truncation at the end of your term (*) to include longer phrases
Refine results - subject area, controlled vocabulary, publication year ...
Select/Mark relevant references and display selected results.
Save, E-mail or Export selected references.

Electronic Databases

 Bibliographic databases can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books and patents on a particular subject or by a particular author. 

If you are on campus you can access most databases & e-journals directly. For off-campus access start at SOLO and log in with your Oxford Single Sign-On.

Repositories, e-print servers, archives...

Archives, subject repositories, e-print servers and institutional repositories are addtional sources of full-text articles and other publications.

ArXiv.com  Open access repository at University of Cornell contrains about 1 million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

CERN Articles & Preprints - the collection contains about 400,000 documents, out of which about 50% can be accessed electronically.

CORE portal  (COnecting REpositories)  includes more than 20 million articles from Open Access Repositories (OARs)

CORR - Computing Research Repository - part of the arXiv e-print repository

The Mathematical Institute E-prints Archive University of Oxford

Europe PubMedCentral, PubMed Central, UK PMC are full text article resources for biomedical and life sciences.