The Index to Legal Terms section of Westlaw UK gives online access to Jowitt’s Dictionary of English Law,
Stroud’s Judicial Dictionary of Words and Phrases, Osborn’s Concise Law Dictionary, "In addition to the dictionaries, the index includes definitions that form part of Westlaw UK's Case, Legislation and Journal documents. All content is interlinked and cross-referenced. Furthermore, any cumulative updates to Stroud or Jowitt are incorporated into the full text of the content online and reflected in the revision date for that source."
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK
Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP
Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
Free resource. Enter an unknown abbreviation to a law report or law journal from your reading list to find out the full title of the report series or journal. Alternatively,
search by title of a report series or law journal to find the abbreviation to use in footnotes.
This web-based service allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index. The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals, but some legislative publications and major textbooks are also included. The Index is still under development.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout