Skip to main content

United Kingdom Law: Law journals

Subjects: Law

Law Journal Indexes

Below is a list of indexes to journal articles which may be useful for literature searches.  The majority of these are abstract only and available to OU members via Oxlip+. 


Legal Databases

Westlaw is available to OU members via Oxlip+.  It contains the Legal Journals Index which is an abstract of UK published law journals from 1986.  There are also a large number of online journals available in full text such as Public Law, Law Quarterly Review, Criminal Law Review, Cambridge Law Journal, Oxford journal of Legal Studies and many others. Some journals do not go back before 1986.

HeinOnline

Available to OU members via Oxlip+. This database contains some of the main UK Legal Journals going back to the first volumes (many journals on Westlaw do not start until 1986) and so it is worth checking.  Unfortunately its licence will not allow the most recent volumes and so it worth searching for the journal on Oxford E Journals to see the date range.  HeinOnline is very easy to browse but there is a search option as well.

Lexis Library

Available to OU members via Oxlip+. Lexis Library has a number of journals available full text under the journals tab.  You can also search from the front screen for articles by title.  The journals include the New Law Journal (selected articles only), Law Society Gazette, Oxford Journal of Legal Studies and Family Law.

Student Law Reviews

Oxford University Undergraduate Law Journal - Started in June 2012, full text available as a PDF

Cambridge Student Law Review - some issues also available on HeinOnline

King's Student Law Review - also available on HeinOnline

Warwick Student Law Review

UCL Student Jurisprudence Review - this page gives information about the review but the full text of articles is available to OU members via Westlaw.

Portals to free law reviews and journals

UK law journals

The principal collection of UK law journals in LawBod have shelf marks beginning Cw UK 300 and are located on the main floor.  These are arranged alphabetically by journal title.  New issues for journals are on our new journals display which is on the right as you come into the library.  If you are looking for a new issue that does not appear here or on the shelf then ask staff and we will be able to check if this issue has arrived and where it is in the system.

 

Westlaw UK  - The Westlaw UK database (available to OU members via Oxlip+) includes the Legal Journal Index which has abstracts of UK legal articles from 1986 onwards.  Some of these will be full text but if the article is not available online it may be contained on one of the many other ejournals in Oxford (see Oxford Ejournals for more information).  See the box on the left to see a range of different journal indexes that may help.

Oxford E-journals - If you are unsure whether a journal is available electronically then you can check on Oxford ejournals.  You can search by the title of the journal and it should link through to let you know where the journal is held.  Some journals are held in more than one database and some databases only hold a certain date range.  Make sure you check the date range information which appears underneath the database link.  The citation boxes within ejournals do not work well with legal journals and so you may find that even if you fill these in it will not take you directly to the article and you will have to use the navigation within that particular database to find your article.

The Bodleian Law Library also has a database of law reports and journals and this can be searched by title or by jurisdiction.

If you have any problems locating an article then do ask the Bodleian Library staff.

Finding Articles in UK Legal Journals

Articles in UK legal journals are usually cited in a certain way.  Under the standards set down in OSCOLA (4th ed) the format should be:

Author, 'title', [year - if no volume] OR (year if there is a volume), volume - if present, issue if pages start from 1 for each part, journal name or abbreviation, first page of article.

So a couple of examples would be:

Kate Hofmeyr, 'The problem of private entrapment' [2006] Criminal Law Review 319

Barber, ‘Laws and Constitutional Conventions’ (2009) 125 LQR 294

Unfortunately not all journal citations will be complete or will have the correct information but you can usually track down the article with the information you have.  See the presentation below to see how to do this.


Search Google Scholar