Skip to main content

Research Guide for Chemistry: Web resources

A guide to research resources for Chemistry

Oxford Research Archive (ORA)

Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) is the institutional repository for the University of Oxford and is home to the scholarly output of its research members. It holds publications, theses and research data.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a broad search of scholarly literature. It covers multiple disciplines and sources.

Using Google Scholar off campus

To get full-text links in your Google Scholar results, you must first tell Google Scholar that you have access to the University of Oxford library subscriptions by

  • Selecting Settings from the top of the Google Scholar Home Page
  • Selecting Library Links
  • Searching for University of Oxford and selecting it from the list
  • Saving your settings

You will now see 'Find it @ Oxford' links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text provided by library subscriptions.

Finding Open access material

Journals and Books

Browser extensions

Downloadable ‘apps’ for your internet browsers.

  • Open Access Button – Automatically detects paywalled articles and presents an open access alternative
  • Unpaywall – Searches Unpaywall’s database of millions of free scholarly articles each time you encounter a paywall.

Repositories, e-print servers, archives...

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 32 million structures.

Physical Sciences Data-science - This service provides access to tools and resources in physical sciences, including chemistry, crystallography, materials and related fields. These web-based data services are freely accessible for academic users from the UK.

CERN Articles & Preprints - the collection contains something like 400,000 documents, out of which about 50% can be accessed electronically.

NIST Chemistry WebBook - this site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.

inSPIRE -HEP-HEP Data  High Energy Physics databases 

Europe PubMedCentral, PubMed Central, UK PMC are full text article resources for biomedical and life sciences.

Zenodo is a respository of research outputs from across all fields of science, stored at CERN