SOLO: Bodleian Latin American Centre Library books published from 1991 are catalogued on SOLO.
Card catalogue: Materials published before 1991 are recorded in the card catalogue in the Hall which is arranged by both author and subject by country.
Theses catalogue: The library houses a small collection of Oxford theses in the subject area, principally those relating to the MSc Public Policy in Latin America. There is a list of some Bodleian Latin American Centre Library theses on our website. A catalogue of Latin American theses housed elsewhere in Oxford is available via the centre – please ask at the Library Office for details. Please note that theses are kept under lock and key and are confined to the library. Ask the librarians if you wish to read one of the theses.
E-resources in the subject area are available 24/7 within the Oxford domain. In addition, there are print collections relating to Latin American Studies that are held at other Bodleian libraries. To find out more, see these LibGuides:
Access to electronic library resources is through Databases A-Z. To access many of these resources when you are not logged on to the university network you will need to register for the Oxford Single Sign-On.
PRISMA – (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas): full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin
HAPI – (Hispanic American Periodicals Index): over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States; over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world
Latin American Studies (Oxford Bibliographies OnLine) – Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies is a reference tool that helps users find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research by providing direct links to SOLO, the Oxford library catalogue, and Oxford e-resources, as well as WorldCat and Google Books.
EMIS – Emerging Markets Information Service: Business intelligence for emerging markets, including Latin and Central America; top news stories in English and Spanish updated daily, plus company profiles, macroeconomic stats, market indices and more
FBIS – Foreign Broadcast Information Service Region 5 Daily Reports 1974–1996: translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations in Latin America. Media sources monitored and issued by an agency of the US government. The reports offer unique perspectives on international affairs as events unfolded from 1974-1996. (See FBIS Guide)
The library uses a simplified version of the Library of Congress classification system.
There are three main sequences: JL for politics, HC for economics and F for history. Each sequence is subdivided by country (represented by a number) and by the surname of the first named author (represented by the initial letter). For example, JL 950 R = JL (politics) 950 (number for Latin America in general) R (Rodriguez).
Books on politics and economics are shelved in the Main Library and Seminar Room on the first floor of the centre. History is shelved in the open-access Stack on the ground floor, together with journals, books on labour relations and land reform, special collections and boxes of miscellaneous material arranged by country.