Skip to main content

US Government Publications: COVID-19

At home but need to study?

#KeepOxfordReading

Tips for finding eresources - Help - News


 

 

 

Miss the library? 

Listen to the Soothing Sounds of the RadCam

 

Tips how to locating digital resources and ebooks

Whilst libraries are closed in amidst the COVID-19 crisis, here are some tips for finding digital resources and ebooks:

  1. Search SOLO. We have 118,000 eJournals and 1.49 million eBooks available for use 24/7. Lots of them will be for American politics and government. 
  2. New online primary source databases recently made available to Bodleian readers are listed on the VHL Blog, which is continuing to be updated. 
  3. Check out Databases A-Z for key official documents databases and ebook collections. LibGuides can also be useful.
  4. LawTrove and PoliticsTrove are the complete ebook textbook collections from the Oxford University Press. Bodleian readers have temporary access to these collections until 31st May 2020. 
  5. Search the Internet Archive for digitised largely 19th century publications. Google Books or Gutenberg Project can also help.
  6. Search ORA (Oxford's institutional repository). See here for a list of UK HE institutional repositories, or try the Digital Commons Network for international institutional repositories. 
  7. If you find an ebook in SOLO which can only be read in Bodleian Libraries’ PCs (look out for the red dot), then we may be able to purchase an ebook for off-campus access. Complete the book recommendation.
  8. Check out the LibGuide for details of our online newpaper resources
  9. Digital Libraries, e.g. Digital.Bodleian with over 900,000 images of c 16,000 archival and rare books items. Also DPLA and Library of Congress Digital Collections. 
  10. Check the VHL Diego for access to 1000+ history free web resources.

Besides the large collection of online book and article material, there are other resources you can use:

  1. Book reviews, for grasping the content of inaccessible books
  2. publishers’ websites can also sometimes be helpful for more recently published material.
  3. Google a book or book chapter in case it is available in another University’s institutional repository or on the social media site of the author.
  4. Digitised theses which were later published as books. SOLO will list any digitised Oxford theses. Otherwise try ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (SSO required) and ETHos.
  5. Google other items to find extracts, chat, reviews, etc.

This is a growing list of resources and will be update as new information becomes available. Thanks go to the History Faculty for contributing to this list of tips.

Above all, please don’t hesitate to contact library staff. We are very busy but we are here to help you in this difficult time. Here is how you can get in touch with us:

  • Live Chat (from front page of SOLO) for general enquiries. Staffed 9am-7pm Monday to Friday and 10am-7pm on weekends.
  • Email vhl@bodleian.ox.ac.uk for general enquiries and when Live Chat is offline.
  • Email the bethan.davies@bodleian.ox.ac.uk for any questions regarding purchasing ebooks, or assistance in researching American politics, history and culture
  • Contact us on Twitter @VHLLIB

Please look after yourselves and stay safe.

Citing ebooks and electronic resources

Not sure how to cite ebooks and eresources?

  • Consult the Ebooks LibGuide for instructions on how to cite ebooks.
  • The database Cite Them Right allows you to test how to cite a variety of resources, many of them electronic such as ebooks and websites, according to your preferred citation style.
  • This useful handbook covers multiple citation styles and is available as an ebook: The complete guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism by Colin Neville (Open University Press, 2010).

If you’re not sure which citation style to use, check your Faculty or Departmental Handbook, or contact your tutor for advice.

Help

Please don't hesitate to contact library staff. We are very busy but we are here to help you in this difficult time. Here is how you can get in touch with us:

Live Chat for general enquiries. Staffed 9am-7pm Monday to Friday and 10am-7pm on weekends.

Email vhl@bodleian.ox.ac.uk for any questions re American studies resources or American studies ebooks.

Contact us on Twitter @VHLLIB. 

chat loading...