UNODC is a global leader in the fight against illicit drugs and international crime. Established in 1997 through a merger between the United Nations Drug Control Programme and the Centre for International Crime Prevention, UNODC operates in all regions of the world through an extensive network of field offices. UNODC relies on voluntary contributions, mainly from Governments, for 90 per cent of its budget.
Indexes, abstracts, citation searching, ToCs and alerts
Alternative name: ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
ASSIA currently contains over 255,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. 1987 - current.
Free guide to Hein’s ScholarCheck which is a series of tools and features integrated throughout various HeinOnline libraries that allow you to analyze the most cited journals, articles, authors and more
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences is a bibliographic database compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. This database contains bibliographic information from an international selection of publications (including over 2600 journals) in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. The bibliographic data in respect of the years prior to 1987 was originally compiled by the International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation, and provided by courtesy of the International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation and UNESCO.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) aggregates citations to a selection of journals (those included in the Web of Science databases). JCR provides data, metrics and analysis to help you assess the value and contribution of a journal. In JCR you can measure influence and impact at the journal and category levels, sort by various metrics, compare journals by quartiles or trends, visualize the relationship between citing and cited journals and trace a journal’s impact over time.
2.2 million articles, reviews, and other source items
The NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database is published by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service, an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control. The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of over 174,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. The NCJRS Abstracts Database excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes. The collection has been developed to meet the needs of criminal justice professionals, researchers, policymakers, and technical and legal experts. Unique elements of the collection include agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research. Documents are either written in English or have an English-language summary.
Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers 15,000 journals from 4,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 33 million abstracts going back as far as 1869.
It includes the content from a number of other major databases: Medline (medicine) 1966 - , Embase (medicine) 1970 - , Compendex (engineering) 1970 - , Geobase (geography) 1980 - .
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 1800 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1963 contain in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Alternative name: British Library's Electronic Table of Contents
Zetoc provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of around 20,000 current journals and around 16,000 conference proceedings published per year. The database covers 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis. It includes an email alerting service, to enable you to keep up-to-date with relevant new articles and papers.
Zetoc Alert is a current awareness service that sends you email alerts matching the search criteria that you have provided whenever new data is loaded into the database. The searches may be for particular journals, for authors and for keywords from the titles of articles and papers. These email Alerts will be sent on the day the new data is loaded into the database.
To take advantage of the ZETOC Alerts service you will need to login using your Oxford Single Sign On (SSO) username and password.
Based in countries in (or influenced by) the Anglo-American legal tradition
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout