Skip to main content

Criminology: Books

Top SOLO tips for criminologists

The criminology collections are housed in two neighbouring locations: the Bodleian Social Science Library and the Bodleian Law Library, about a 5 minute stroll apart.

If you prefer to search SOLO without applying any filters (like a google search box), pay particular attention to the Location details in the results: Law Library or Social Science Library. It is quite possible that both libraries may have a copy or copies of the same book. In which case you might prefer to click for details of the Social Science Library copy first - as some (not all) of the Social Science Library's books are available to borrow. This is never the case at the Law Library, with the entire collection being reference only.

If you prefer applying structure to your SOLO searches, you can limit the search to just one library's collection at a time. Do this by using the drop down menu at the right hand end of the search box and picking either Bodleian Law Library or Social Science Library.

Locating criminology books in the Social Science Library

The Social Science Library's collection is on one floor, the Ground Floor of the Manor Road Building.

The book collection is arranged using Library of Congress - the guide below can be downloaded to help you find those shelfmarks relevant to your interests.

Locating criminology books in the Law Library

The Law Library's collection is spread over four floors; readers enter and exit on Level 2 which has the main seating area, the Photocopying Room, and the Enquiry Desk.

On Level 2 are the current/latest edtiions of criminal law and criminology books with shelfmarks beginning KM. These are books looking at the law and theory of the subject in the UK, Australia, Ireland, Canada, New Zealand and USA.

On Level 3 are the current/latest editions of criminoloyg books with shelfmarks beginning Crim. There are both stairs and a lift to access this floor above the entrance level. There is also some reader seating, a Quick Search computer (for SOLO searching), and a pcas machine on this floor.

On the Ground Floor are the superseded editions of both the KM and Crim books. There are both stairs and a lift to access this floor two below the entrance level. There is reader seating, a Quick Search computer (for SOLO searching), and a pcas machine on this floor. Also couple of computer rooms if you wish to use a Bodleian library computer.

Books & ebooks

Encyclopedia, handbooks and book platforms