Skip to main content

Social Policy and Intervention: Digital Archives

General Sources

Forced Migration Online

Provides instant access to a variety of online resources dealing with the situation of forced migrants worldwide aiming to give comprehensive information in an impartial environment and to promote increased awareness of human displacement issues to an international community of users.

Mass Observation Online

The collection includes the entire File Report sequence 1937-1972, access to all of the Day Surveys, Directives and Diaries, 1937-1942, early Mass Observation Publications and selected Topic Collection.

Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950

Archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.

Welfare Reform on the Web

This Welfare Reform Digest from the collections of the British Library aims to help social policy practitioners and researchers to keep up to date with debates and literature on UK welfare reform.

Gender Issues

Defining gender, 1450-1910

Collection of original source material from British and European archives useful for those studying history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective.

John Jonson Collection

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera

One of the largest collections of printed ephemera in the world, offers a view of British history through primary, uninterpreted printed documents which, produced for short-term use, have survived by chance, including advertisements, handbills, playbills and programmes, menus, greetings cards, posters, postcards.

Digital Collections at Oxford University

Here you can find a selection of digital archive material avaialble to Oxford users. All resources are full-text and fully searchable covering topics as varied as everyday life in Britain between 1937-1972, gender, the experiences of refugees now and in Post-War Europe, social movements, and ephemera of sociological interest.

To get more detailed information on how to access resources available to the Bodleian Library readers go to the Special Collections & Western Manuscripts guide "Finding Aids - Early Modern & Modern Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library".

London 'News'

Illustrated London news

Historical Archive, 1842-2003

A full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

DocumentsEssaysInteractive MapsOnline Exhibitions.