Skip to main content

Social Policy and Intervention: Journal Articles & Reports

Social Science Journals Databases

Proquest Social Science Premium Collection

This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts and Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA). Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.

 

Web of Science®

Provides access to and cross-searching of data bases in the social sciences: Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index in Social Sciences & Humanities, and Journal Citation Reports.

SCOPUS

A bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences going back as far as 1869.
 

Ethnic NewsWatch

An interdisciplinary full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press;


Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Includes indexed journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in all aspects of the study of language;

 

 

For databases focused on more precise subjects you might try searching EBSCO's:

Abstracts in Social Gerontology

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of ageing, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline;

Anthropology Plus

A comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries;

Chicano Database

EBSCOhost logoProvides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology;

Child Development & Adolescent Studies

Today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from journals and a bibliography of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed;

GreenFILE

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records;

National Review (1955-)

Offers complete indexing & abstracting and full text coverage for all issues of the journal back to the first issue in 1955 through to the present which provides coverage of political, economic, social, and cultural issues and trends.

To find more databases search or browse Databases A-Z

Open access journals

BioMed Central Journals

Access Medicine & Public Health journals.

BMC Medicine

An open access, peer-reviewed general medical journal publishes research in all areas of clinical practice, translational medicine, medical & health advances, public health, global health, policy, and general topics of interest to the biomedical and sociomedical professionals.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals, including Public health and Public aspects of medicine topics.

Free Medical Journals

Alerts & TOCs

ZETOC

Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings.

Journal TOCs (Journal Tables of Contents service)

The makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material.

Guide: Citation Searching

Web of Science®

Provides access to and cross-searching of data bases in the social sciences: Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index in Social Sciences & Humanities, and Journal Citation Reports.

SCOPUS

A bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences going back as far as 1869.

Google Scholar

Also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.
To find articles and books cited within books try searching

Google Books

with the reference in quotation marks.

Healthcare and public health

PubMed

Provides free access to MEDLINE and links to full text articles when possible.
  • PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text.
  • Europe PubMed Central - based on PubMed Central, free online digital archive of full-text, peer reviewed research publications.
  • PubMed provides a publicly accessible database of publications predominately focused upon biomedical sciences. Material covered in the database includes journal articles, conference proceedings, case reports, clinical trial reports and systematic reviews.

 

Healthcare databases advanced search (HDAS)

Provides access to reliable information for health and social care professionals:
  • search MEDLINE, EMBASE, CINAHL, PsycINFO, AMED, etc. (requires OpenAthens account),
  • or perform a quick search of PubMed (no OpenAthens account required).

Oxford Bibliographies Online (Public Health)

Comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in the study of Public Health.
 

PsycINFO

Provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences.
 

Cochrane Library

An electronic publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.

Social Policy Association publications

SPA logoPublications of the Social Policy Association, UK’s professional association for teachers, researchers, students and practitioners of social policy by Cambridge University Press.

Journal of Social Policy

Peer reviewed articles on all aspects of social policy in an international context, with particular emphasis on the future direction of social policy, presentation of new empirical data. Also available online.

Social Policy and Society

An international academic journal containing original articles that draw upon contemporary policy-related research and developments in the social sciences. Also available online

Social Policy Review

Provides all those interested in welfare issues with critical analyses of progress and change in areas of major interest during the past year.
Global Social PolicyAvailable in printed and electronic form the journal focuses on aspects of social policy and social governance broadly defined in both contemporary and historical contexts.

Social Care Institute for ExcellenceSocial Care Online

Free service offering a complete range of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work in the UK.
Launched by CSPI (Center for Science in the Public Interest) Policy Library is a social, economic & foreign policy resource - updated daily with the latest jobs, research, and events.

Social Policy Digest

The site provides a permanent archival record of the Social Policy Digest, a major web-based resource on UK social policy issues maintained from May 2002 to September 2014.