Skip to main content

Computer Science: Online resources

Subject-specific repositories

ArXiv: Open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

OSF Preprints: -  all subjects preprints repositories including Engineering.

 

Oxford Research Archive (ORA)

Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) is the institutional repository for the University of Oxford and is home to the scholarly output of its research members. It holds publications, theses and research data.

Highlighted Repositories, Search Engines, and Websites

This page contains links to repositories, search engines, and websites for Computer Science information and research. Selected resources contain abstracts, full-text articles, technical reports, experimental data, and other technical information. 

Disclaimer: We do not take responsibility for the content of external websites.

Finding Open access material

Journals and Books

Browser extensions

Downloadable ‘apps’ for your internet browsers.

  • Open Access Button – Automatically detects paywalled articles and presents an open access alternative
  • Unpaywall – Searches Unpaywall’s database of millions of free scholarly articles each time you encounter a paywall.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a broad search of scholarly literature. It covers multiple disciplines and sources.

Using Google Scholar off campus

To get full-text links in your Google Scholar results, you must first tell Google Scholar that you have access to the University of Oxford library subscriptions by

  • Selecting Settings from the top of the Google Scholar Home Page
  • Selecting Library Links
  • Searching for University of Oxford and selecting it from the list
  • Saving your settings

You will now see 'Find it @ Oxford' links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text provided by library subscriptions.