Skip to Main Content

Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800): Dissertations

Find Oxford history theses in SOLO

Looking for books, journals, databases and more, held in Oxford libraries? 

Search Oxford Libraries Online (SOLO)

Search tips:
"Faculty of Modern History" thesis
or "Faculty of History" thesis

Getting started

Oxford theses: Use SOLO first to find most Oxford theses. All non-science D.Phils, all non-science masters theses from 1994, all Law theses, all postgraduate science theses from 1995, and all science D.Phils from 1988, and many individual theses outside these categories, are catalogued on SOLO. > More on this

British & Irish theses: Use ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: a comprehensive listing of US, British and Irish theses (previously known as Index to Theses). Has abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716.

Thesis Completed (Institute of Historical Research): Theses Completed 1901-1970 are available in British History Online, 1971-2019 will be added in autumn 2019.

US theses: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global More than 2.3million entries, the database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Coverage: 1861 - Current

How do I find the full-text?

Try

  • EThos, the British Library's service for downloading of theses from UK universities (note: not all universities, incl. Oxford and Cambridge are partners)
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (selectively digitised, largely from 1997 onwards but with some earlier content too)