Skip to main content

Early modern history (British & W European c. 1500-c. 1800): Journal articles

Search Oxford Libraries Online

Looking for books, journals, databases and more, held in Oxford libraries? 

Search Oxford Libraries Online (SOLO)

Looking for early modern and modern archives held in the Bodleian Libraries?

Search Bodleian Archives & Manuscripts

Why use bibliographical databases

Generally speaking, journal articles are not catalogued in library catalogues.

If you know the journal article details,

search by journal article and author in SOLO Search Everything (note: not comprehensive & doesn't include print journal articles)

or

search by journal title in SOLO All libraries / collections.

If you don't know the journal article details, use bibliographic databases to find them.

You can find printed bibliographies in a library catalogue by doing a subject search, such as Reformation - Bibliography.

Key bibliographical databases

Bibliographical databases usually have to be accessed via SOLO or Databases A-Z. Oxford users should use their SSO (?) login for remote access.

Why bother? Bibliographies specialise in finding articles which have been published in history or history-related journals. Important: Note that these databases tell you what has been published but not what exists in Oxford.

How to you find the full-text? use the button to locate the full-text (print or electronic).

National historical bibliographies

Austria

Österreichische historische Bibliographie = Austrian historical bibliography. 1967-. Available online.

Belgium

Bibliographie de l’Histoire de Belgique (BHB). 1952-2008 available online.

France

Répertoire bibliographique de l'histoire de France. 1920-31. [URR K.8.38]

Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France. 1953-. [URR K.8.38]

Germany

Jahresberichte der Geschichtswissenschaft, 1880-1916

Jahresberichte der deutschen Geschichte, 1918-1924

Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte. (Leipzig, 1927-). [URR K.7.278]

1974-2015 available online.

Historische Bibliographie. 1986-. 1990- available online.

Great Britain

Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) [also known as Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History, 1975-]

Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature; IHR. 1, 1911-.

Writings on British history: a bibliography of books and articles on the history of Great Britain from about 400 A.D. to 1914 R.H.S. [Also available as the Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)]

Italy

Bibliografia Storica Nazionale. 1939-99. 2000- available online.

Netherlands

De Digitale Bibliografie Nederlandse Geschiedenis

Spain

Indice histórico español. 1953-. [URR K.9.100]

1 (1953)-124 (2009) available online 

Switzerland

Bibliographie der Schweizergeschichte. (Bern, 1913-)