Skip to main content

Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: Journals

Subjects: Refugee Studies

Legal Journals Abbreviations

To find the full title of a legal journal that is referenced as a very brief abbreviation, e.g. All ER, search for the abbreviation in the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations.

Social Policy Digest A major web-based resource on UK social policy issues maintained from May 2002 to September 2014, the Social Policy Digest was developed and maintained as a companion to two journals – the Journal of Social Policy and Social Policy and Society – both of which are published in association with the by Cambridge University Press.
The Digest is no longer updated.

Finding journals

To find printed and electronic journals search SOLO, Oxford Libraries' catalogue. Journals are shelved by title in the library's periodical section.

A comprehensive Guide to Forced Migration Periodicals is available as part of the Forced Migration Online platform.

Finding journal articles

Use the OxLIP+ databases to find journal articles on a subject.  Key databases for refugee studies are:

Provides access to Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), PAIS index, Sociological Abstracts and Sociology Database among others, covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading sociology journals. Some Sociology databases can be searched as part of Social Science Premium Collection.
Part of ISI Web of Knowledge, includes behavioural and social sciences going back to 1970.

Social Policy Association publications

Journal of Social Policy

Peer reviewed articles on all aspects of social policy in an international context, with particular emphasis on the future direction of social policy, presentation of new empirical data.

Social Policy and Society

An international academic journal containing original articles that draw upon contemporary policy-related research and associated developments in the social sciences.

Social Policy Review

Provides all those interested in welfare issues with critical analyses of progress and change in areas of major interest during the past year.

Citation searching

For citation searching go to -

Table of Content and Alerts

ZETOC logo

Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis. You can Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify and delete email Alert; or set up RSS feeds for journals.

JournalTOCs (Tables of Contents Service)

A searchable collection of that contains articles' metadata of TOCs for academic journals.
Users can find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

You can set up alerts and RSS feeds on SCOPUS, as well as Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS).

Google Scholar

Google scholar is also an easy way of finding journal articles. Here are some tips to get the best out of it:
  • Use as many relevant keywords as possible when searching;
  • If you have a phrase "put it in quotation marks";
  • Use a minus sign before a word to exclude it from the search;
  • On campus you will have links to 'Find it@Oxford', off campus you can activate these by searching for Oxford on the Library Links option in Scholar Preferences.;
  • If you use Endnote or Refworks you can set these as your bibliographic manager preference in Scholar Preferences.