Skip to main content

Bodleian Social Science Library Guide: Finding Books, Journals and Online Resources

A short guide to the Library and our collections.

How to find things

SOLO is the search and discovery tool for the major collections of the libraries of the University of Oxford. It covers:

  • the physical holdings of the majority of libraries within the university of Oxford including the Bodleian Libraries and most College and Departmental Libraries
  • the University's collections of e-books, e-journals and databases
  • materials which the Bodleian Libraries receive via electronic legal deposit (eLD)
  • ORA (Oxford University Research Archive - a repository of research papers and theses by members of Oxford University)
  • Scanned versions of (mainly 19th century) library materials digitised as part of the Oxford Google Books project.

See the SOLO LibGuide for help with searching.

Databases A-Z provides access to Oxford University's extensive collection of online bibliographic and reference databases.

e-Journals A-Z provides access to Oxford University's collection of electronic journals.

All databases and e-Journals can also be accessed via SOLO.

Visit our library website for more information.

Can't find what you are looking for? Please contact the library for assistance.

Remote Access

Ways to access subscription resources off campus:

Note: You need to be a current member of Oxford University to access e-resources off campus.

  1. Single Sign On. Sign on to SOLO or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 
  2. VPN (Virtual Private Network). Register with OU IT Services to log on to the network via VPN. Once logged on you can access all e-resources as if you were on campus.
For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

Social Sciences Data

The Bodleian Libraries provides access to an extensive collection of databases via Databases A-Z

The Bodleian Data Library provides a wide range of services for all researchers and students at the University who need to make secondary use of statistics and data.

Good data management practices help organise, store and retrieve data for use during a project, and after it is completed. Find out more about the principles behind data management on the Research Data Oxford website.

The Data and Statistics for Social Sciences LibGuide also provides further information and tips for Social Scientists