Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford seeking support in politics and international relations, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about printed and online resources, including ebooks, ejournals, databases, and special collections for politics and international relations.

Finding books for politics and international relations

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for politics and international relations and printed books, including the main collections in the Bodleian Social Science Library. For more detailed information about our book collections visit the books page of this guide.

  • SOLO
    Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or to online resources.
  • SOLO user guide
    If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals and working papers

A lot of journals and working papers are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. 

The Journals page of this guide provides a list of subscription collections. It also provides information on working and research papers, a valuable source of early stage research in politics and international relations.

Key databases

We subscribe to a wide range of bibliographic databases, which can be found via SOLO or Databases A-Z. 

Databases can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for politics and international relations in the Databases page of this guide.

Online resources

There are many alternative sources of information online for the study of politics and international relations. To get started, take a look at the Digital Archives and News & Analysis pages of this guide and the Public Opinion page of the Data and Statistics guide. 

Further useful sources include:

Key libraries

Bodleian Social Science Library
The University's main lending library for politics and international relations.

Bodleian Law Library
Home to the Official Papers Section

Find a Library
Search for a library by name, browse by location or use the filters to find your preferred workspace.