Skip to main content

Sociology: E-Books & Online Reference

Subjects: Sociology

eBooks Collections

All e-books can be accessed via SOLO or directly through publisher collections.

EBSCOhosteBook Collection

A collection of e-books purchased by Oxford librarians. Access to each e-book is limited to one or, more commonly, two simultaneous users, depending on the individual book licence. Details on accessing the ebooks on this platform are here.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Sociology

The collection contains essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)

Publications on political sociology and social issues and reference works on Children and Families, Communities and Organizations, Health & Mental Health,  Religion, Research and Evaluation, Social Policy, Social Work, and Sociology.

ProQuest Ebook Central ™

Delivers ebooks from scholarly sources, including universities' and other top publishers.

ScienceDirect

In addition to the subsriptions over 250,000 articles on ScienceDirect currently are open access, i.e.peer-reviewed and made free for everyone to read and download. Permitted reuse is defined by the authors’ choice of user license.

Image result for taylor and francis logoTaylor & Francis Online eBooks Library: Sociology & social policy​

A librarian-selected package of eBooks from the publisher Taylor & Francis includes titles in the Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment and Law.
When browsing the site, filter contents to “Full access content only”.

Help on finding and using ebooks is available in the Finding and connecting to e-resources (e-books, e-journals & databases) libgude.

Reference Works

Blackwell Companion to Sociology

A collection of essays, covering both the traditions and strengths of the field as well as newer developments and directions.

Oxford dictionary of Sociology

Covers terminology, concepts, and thinkers in the field of sociology, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

Aims to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences.

Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion

Provides an entry point into the sociological study and understanding of religion, and an in-depth survey into its changing forms and content in the contemporary world discussing the role and impact of religion and spirituality on the politics, culture, education, and health of the modern world.

Research help

SAGE

CASES

Search and browse this collection of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.

An online network for the community of researchers engaged in research methods.

Subjects: Sociology

Contact us | Send us your feedback

Accessibility Statement - https://visit.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/accessibility

Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

© Bodleian Libraries 2021. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence