Skip to main content

Economics: E-Books & Reference

eCollections

All e-books can be accessed via SOLO, through e-libraries:

The collection of e-books purchased currently contains over 2000 books purchased by Oxford librarians ('Our Collection') as well as over 3000 free e-books.
Access to each e-book is limited to one or, more commonly, two simultaneous users, depending on the individual book license. Details on accessing the ebooks on this platform can be found here.

Provides online access to the collection of global economic content, published by the International Monetary Fund - text publications and statistical databases.

eBook Central ProQuest Ebook Central aka EBL and ebrary

Delivers ebooks from scholarly sources, including UPs and other top publishers.

Or directly through publisher collections:

Provides comprehensive access to OECD statistical data, books, journals, and working papers.

A collection of ebooks containing an extensive Economics and Finance selection.

Offers long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.

In addition to current subscriptions ScienceDirect offers over 250,000 articles on open access.

A librarian-selected package of eBooks, with titles in Social Sciences, including Economics, Finance, Business, &Industry.
When browsing the site, filter contents to “Full access content only”.

Online Handbooks & Reference

A year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758.

Each handbook presents a self-contained survey of the current state of various branches of economics.

A definitive reference source for economics containing articles by world's leading economists.

The handbooks offer both introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource. 

A platform for SAGE & CQ Press book, reference, and video content.

Wiley Online Library
Bodleian libraries have access to some of it's reference works.

Open Access eBook Collections

OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)

Online library and publication platform contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.

directory of open access books

A list of academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access from a variety of publishers, linking to the full text.

Library of Economic Literature

Provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1914 provides access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.

Commonwealth iLibrary

A single research repository which includes titles on a range of topics in which the Commonwealth has particular insight and expertise, especially concerning small states, including globalisation & multilateral trade issues, and export & enterprise development.
Titles are organised by series, year and alphabetically.

SAGE

SAGE

Learning research methods?  ♦  Doing a research project?
Teaching research methods?  ♦  Supervising a project?

Search and browse the collection of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.

METHODSPACE

An online network for the community of researchers engaged in research methods. Sponsored by SAGE, the site is created for students and researchers to network and share research, resources and debates. Methodspace users have free access to selected journal articles, book chapters, etc which highlight emerging topics in the field.