Skip to main content

Economics: Journal articles & Working papers

Finding journal articles

ABI/INFORM Global and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

Contain journal articles in full text, which can be searched along with a variety of professional, trade and business articles.

e-Journals A-Z

Search the collection of e-journals available to Bodleian readers by title, subject, or citation.

EBSCOBusiness Source Complete plus Enhanced Interface

Definitive scholarly business database, providing bibliographic and full text content.

cairn.info

Gives access to electronic French journals relevant for economics, social and political sciences; coverage generally starts with 2001 issues and includes current content.

EconLit

Now part of the ProQuest platform, the AEA’s electronic bibliography, EconLit, provides citations, with selected abstracts, to the international publications on economics since 1969, covering a broad range of document types, including journal articles, books, dissertations,and articles in collective works.

JSTOR

Provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including economics.

SCOPUS

A bibliographic database which combines a number of subjects, inlcuding economics, into one database, and provides access to abstracts going back as far back as 1869.

Finding working papers

Services like RePEc and SSRN allow for a more controlled searching of working paper series and author pages.
Recent working papers are very easy to find via Google and Google scholar, although you may find it difficult to determine which is the most recent version depending on how you access them.

Citation searching

For citation searching, i.e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to:

  • Web of Science® which provides access and cross-searching of databases in social sciences via Social Sciences Citation Index. Also provides access to Journal Citation Reports for sciences and social sciences;
  • SCOPUS, a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences going back as far as 1869;
  • Google Scholar also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable;
  • To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google Books with the reference in quotation marks.

Guide: TOCs & Alerts

ZETOC logoZetoc service

Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents (ETOC) of current journals and conference proceedings.
You can Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify and delete email Alert; or set up RSS feeds for journals.

Journal Tables of Contents Service

Makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by enabling users to find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

ORA

Oxford Research Archive

Contains research publications and other research output produced by members of the University: copies of journal articles, conference papers, theses and other types of research output.

Guide: Google Scholar

ExLibris header imageYou can search for journal articles in Google scholar and use the "Find it@Oxford" link to access electronic versions. Scholar is the largest database of scholarly literature; it gives you quick, relevant results but sometimes too many, and it lacks search tools.
Google Scholar Search