Skip to main content

Shakespeare: a short guide to online resources: eBooks

Online resources for Shakespeare
Subjects: English

Cambridge Collections Online - titles from the collection

Cambridge Collections Online provides fully searchable online editions of all the Cambridge Companions series in Literature, Classics, Philosophy, Religion and Culture. 

You can search by specific title and also by keyword within the text. Individual chapters can be viewed as pdf files, which replicate the print version of the book, or in html for onscreen viewing.

 

Examples from the collection include:

The New Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare
Margreta De Grazia; Stanley W. Wells 
2010

The Cambridge companion to Shakespeare and Contemporary Dramatists
A.J. Hoenselaars
2012

 
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare's First Folio
Emma Smith
2016
The Cambridge companion to Shakespeare on film
Russell Jackson
2007

 

Oxford Scholarship Online

Oxford Scholarship Online contains a growing collection of humanities and social science ebooks published by Oxford University Press. Over 600 literature titles are available and the collection can be browsed by subject. Book chapters can be read online or downloaded as PDFs.

Wiley Online Reference Library

Wiley Online Library provides full text access to key reference works in the Blackwell's Reference series and Wiley Textbooks. The texts are fully searchable and chapters can be read online in html format. There are 10 titles specifically related to Shakespeare, as well as hundreds more chapters in other titles.

Examples from the collection available via SOLO:  

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)