Skip to main content

Shakespeare: a short guide to online resources: eTexts of Shakespeare's works

Online resources for Shakespeare
Subjects: English

Drama Online

Drama Online provides access to the searchable full-text of over 1000 plays, including the Arden Shakespeare editions, to form a collection of the most studied, performed and critically acclaimed plays from Aeschylus to the present day. Over 100 critical and contextual works are also included, as well as biographical and bibliographical information for each playwright.

 

NB Oxford has access to all content until May 2020

Bodleian First Folio

A digital facsimile of the Bodleian First Folio

Shakespeare's Words

Shakespeare's Words is an online version of David and Ben Crystal's glossary and language companion.

  • Read full texts of the Complete Works online.
  • Search for one word or phrase across all the Works.
  • Full A-Z Glossary.
  • Search by Topics or Themes.

 

To use the site you will have to register an account and then use the access code found on Weblearn.

Internet Shakespeare Editions

Internet Shakespeare Editions has thee parts to it: Text, Context, and Performance.

Text has several versions of Shakespeare's works: old-spelling transcriptions, modern editions, and facsimile images of the originals.

Context contains a multimedia resource of over 1,000 virtual pages; it provides contextual bibliographies for further study in the library. Sections of the site deal with Shakespeare's life, the stage he wrote for, and the background of ideas, politics, literature, and art.

Performance current and historical performances, providing a dynamic view of the way his plays have been interpreted over time and in different cultures. Theaters across the world contribute to the database, updating it with new performances each year, creating both for themselves and those around the world interested in theater a lasting digital archive of performance.

British Library Quartos

The British Library Quartos site contains 107 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the 1642 theatre closures. You will find background information and details of performance, but the site excels in allowing you to compare different quartos side-by-side using high quality page images.

Literature Online

Literature Online provides access to the full text of original works and critical works such as journal articles and citations, so that you can see what recent research is being undertaken in the field of Shakespeare studies. 

You can also easily search for works by Shakespeare's contemporaries, or search for particular play features, or even keywords across a range of texts.