Skip to main content

Taylor Institution Library Guide: Getting started

Modern Languages in Oxford (West European)

WiFi, copying, printing

WiFi is available: see the guide to WiFi connections or ask a member of staff for help.

We have four self-service photocopiers which are part of the Bodleian Libraries' Print, Copy and Scan (PCAS) network.

Readers can print from workstations throughout the library.

For more information about PCAS see the links below or ask at the Issue and Enquiry Desks.

For delicate items, you may use your own digital camera.

Copyright regulations must be observed.

    Film viewing

There is a multi-region DVD/video machine with headphones in the Teaching Collection film viewing room.

Please ask at the Issue Desk if you wish to use it.

Joining the Library

All members of the University are welcome to use the Research Collection but please remember to bring a valid University card.

If you are not a member of the University but wish to carry out legitimate study you should apply through the Bodleian Libraries Admissions Office (details of procedure at http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/using/getting-a-readers-card). 

The Teaching Collection is primarily intended for undergraduates reading modern languages, although if you are a resident member of the University you may register as a reader and borrow books for short periods of time. 

Readers should take books from both collections to the Issue Desk in the Teaching Collection for check out and return. For all research enquiries and collection and return of Inter Library Loans, please go to the Enquiry Desk in the Research Collection.

Please note that there are restrictions on borrowing films.

Overdue notices, fines, holds (reservations)

A reminder notice will be sent by email one day before an item is due, followed by overdue notices. Fines will be payable on all late returns. For current rates see http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/using/borrowing.

If all copies of a particular title are out, you can reserve a copy. It will be held for you for four days (two days for films).

You can also access MyAccount, place a Hold (Reservation) and renew books via the SOLO* website. Current members of Oxford University should sign on to SOLO using your Oxford Single Sign On credentials. Other members of the Bodleian Libraries should choose 'non-Oxford members' and sign on with your library card barcode number and library password. Books can also be ordered from the Bodleian for delivery to the Taylor Main Library by placing a Hold (Stack Request) on SOLO. Books with the location 'Closed Stack' are held at the Book Storage Facility at Swindon. However if a hold is placced on a Closed Stack item before 10.30 am, it should reach the Taylor by the same afternoon.

*SOLO is the library catalogue covering the majority of the Library collections of the University of Oxford. For more information about using SOLO, visit the SOLO Guide.

Loans policy

Principal membership categories

 

Senior members in Modern Languages 

20 Research Collections items for 56 days plus 12 items from the Teaching Collection for 7 days

Graduates (MLitt, DPhil)

12 Research Collection items for 28 days plus 12 items from the Teaching Collection for 7 days

Graduates (MPhil, MSt)

12 Research Collection items for 14 days plus 12 items from the Teaching Collection for 7 days

Undergraduates

8 Research Collection items for 7 days plus 12 items from the Teaching Collection for 7 days

Renewals: up to three renewals are permitted online through My SOLO for Research Collection items; up to seven renewals online for Teaching Collection items.

Inter-Library Loans

Readers can request books, articles or university theses not available in Oxford Libraries from other libraries in the UK or abroad on ILL.

All requests should be made using the online form: https://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/interlib.

If you wish to consult an ILL item at the library, please select 'Taylor Institution Library' from the Delivery Location drop-down menu. For further information about the service please see the ILL page on our website