Physical & Digital Collections
The Museum's holdings are extensive.
Ashmolean Departments & Sub-collections
Department of Eastern Art
Holdings comprise art from the Islamic World, the Indian sub-continent, South-East Asia, China, Japan and Korea. Ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, paintings, prints are a particular focus.
Department of Western Art
Holds a wide range number of individual collections, some of which are digitised.
- The Christopher Hewett Collection
Comprises prints, drawings, paintings, sculpture and books, including livres d’artiste mainly by 20th century French artists. These complement the Strachan Collection at the Taylor Institution (See Giles Barber and Eunice Martin. French livres d’artiste in Oxford University collections [Oxford, 1996]). (NOTE: Not available online)
- The Cook and Wedderburn Collection
Contains books and other materials accumulated by Sir Edward Tyas Cook and Alexander Wedderburn during the preparation of their edition of the Works of John Ruskin (published 1903-1912). It includes early editions of Ruskin’s writings, as well as the publications Cook and Wedderburn consulted during the course of their research. (NOTE: Not available online)
- The Elements of Drawing
Online resource documenting John Ruskin’s Teaching Collection.
- F. W. Hope Collection
Formed by Frederick William Hope (1797-1862). It comprises a large collection of portraits (including portraits of early scientists) and other items, including books. Hope also assembled a collection of about 160,000 portrait and topographical engravings, as well as other prints, both unbound and in illustrated books, together with a number of drawings and photographs. Many of the works appear in several different states and forms of reproduction, thus constituting a significant resource for the study of the history of reproductive prints. (NOTE: Not available online)
While much of the Hope Collection is held by the Ashmolean’s Western Art Department some of its books are at the Sackler Library and can be found on SOLO. Most of the Hope books have a variety of collection stamps and the SOLO records indicate these variations.
Hope also built up a large collection of (painted) portraits which he bequeathed to the University of Oxford.
- Italian Prints Collection
C15th & C16th Italian prints, mostly from the collection of the English antiquary Francis Douce (1757-1834).
- Pissarro Archive
Comprises paintings, prints, drawings, books, and letters by Camille, Lucien, Orovida, and other members of the Pissarro family. (NOTE: Not available online)
- Print Room (Western Art Department)
One of the UK's finest collections of European graphic arts from the fifteenth century to the present day.
- Silver Collection
One of the most important museum collections worldwide.
- The Sutherland Collection
Presented to the University in 1837 and subsequently transferred to the Ashmolean from the Bodleian. It comprises Clarendon’s History of the Rebellion and Bishop Burnet’s History of His Own Time, both of which have been extensively grangerized (interleaved with ca. 19,000 prints and drawings) and are important illustrative sources for English 16th-17th century studies. (NOTE: Not available online)
- The Gwynn Talbot Collection comprises books, prints, maps and drawings relating to Russian topography, particularly that of St. Petersburg. (NOTE: Not available online)
- Western Art Drawings Online
Images from the museum's Print Room, one of the world's finest and most extensive collections of European prints and drawings. The database includes digitised images of all the Italian, French, French Ornament and Russian drawings, as well as some of the English and German drawings.
- Western Art Paintings Online
Images of the Paintings Collection held by the Western Art Department.