Skip to Main Content

Art and Architecture: Journals

The Sackler Library is the premier research library for the study of art, architecture and archaeology at Oxford. It incorporates multiple libraries previously housed in separate locations around the University.

Introduction

Art and Architecture journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched for via SOLO, as can many individual articles within ejournals. If you are new to Oxford Libraries or SOLO, we recommend visiting the 'Getting started' and 'How to' guides at the links below.

Electronic journals (ejournals)

Ejournals are digital versions of select types of serial publications. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of physical works.

Members of Oxford University can use ejournals that the Bodleian Libraries have purchased for free. Search for them on SOLO. They can be read on a desktop computer, laptop, tablet, e-reader or mobile phone; you just need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. 

Some ejournals have restrictive access and usage terms, for example they can only be read by one person at a time. Some books are acquired via 'electronic Legal Deposit'. These must be read on a library desktop computer in one of the Bodleian Libraries. Find out more on how to identify and access electronic Legal Deposit items on SOLO here.

Learn more about ejournals with the following links.

The following is a list of ejournal collections and journal indexing services applicable to those studying Art and Architecture at Oxford. 

The platforms that host ejournal collections allow you to browse and search across all ejournals on their site. You can refine your searches, and be confident resources are credible. We recommend visiting Databases A-Z for a full list of eresource packages.

The ejournal collections have been selected by the Bodleian Libraries and you are able to access them for free because of institutional subscriptions. You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the ebooks if you are not on the University network.

Physical journals

The Sackler Library is Oxford University's principal library for Art and Architecture collections. It contains journals for taught and research courses. Readers can browse within Western Art and Architecture, and Eastern Art and Architecture.
Less frequently used journals are held offsite and can be requested to a reading room via SOLO.

The Sackler Library's Art and Architecture journal collections use different call numbers/ shelfmarks for Western Art and Eastern Art periodicals. Western Art periodicals can be found starting with the numbers 902.1-902.99, for example 902.8 Oxf - Oxford Art Journal. Eastern Art periodicals can be found under call numbers/ shelfmarks between Y1-Y269, for example [EAL] Y 97 - HALI: The International Journal of Oriental Carpets and Textiles.

Readers can navigate the Sackler Library stacks by using its interactive floorplans. You locate the floor/shelf of a journal by searching its call number/ shelfmark. Here, the map will indicate the location of your journal.

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Browzine

Browzine iconBrowZine is an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards.  For those wishing to learn more, we recommend the following guide: