The Sackler Library is the premier research library for the study of art, architecture and archaeology at Oxford. It incorporates multiple libraries previously housed in separate locations around the University.
Restricted-access e-books can be found on the university's online catalogue and can only be accessed from within the university network.
Alternative name: Search Oxford Libraries Online
SOLO is the official search tool for the Bodleian Libraries of the University of Oxford. It allows searching of around 13 million library items, 3 million Electronic Legal Deposit e-books and journal articles, the theses and articles stored in ORA, and research articles from journals subscribed to by the University. A specialist map search is also available.
The below list links are to multi-volume e-book platforms ONLY. And they have a strong focus on key art- and architecture-related topics.
NOTE: Links to individual e-books are not listed here.
Full-text French literature database (Trésors de la langue française). Covers texts 12th century - present.
* The complete on-line version of the first edition of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie, with Panckoucke's 4-volume Supplément à l'Encyclopédie
* George D. McKee's The Image of France -- an index of the official documentation of printed imagery and photographs authorized for publication in France
* Selected Salon criticism
ARTFL is an indispensable collection of electronic resources for researchers in French Language and Literature. Oxford has access to all the ARTFL databases including those available only on subscription. This includes access to the main ARTFL version of FRANTEXT comprising 3,558 French texts from the 12th to the 20th centuries, as well as several other restricted collections of texts and crucial reference works listed below:
-French Women Writers, over 100 works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century.
-Provençal Poetry, 38 collections of texts from the 12th and 13th centuries.
-Textes de Français Ancien (TFA), 103 works from the 12th through 15th century.
-The Journal de Trévoux, ou Mémoires pour l'Histoire des Sciences & des Beaux-Arts. 109 volumes, 1751-1758.
-Pierre Bayle, Dictionnaire historique et critique (5th Edition, 1740).
-Louis Moréri, Le Grand dictionnaire historique, ou le Mélange curieux de l'Histoire sacrée et profane, etc. (1759).
-Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database, 1,960 vernacular texts dated prior to 1375, including Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as many lesser-known texts.
Enhanced PDF versions (searchable and downloadable) of the CRLB. Files link to records in the RKD image database, allowing for the publication of bibliographic data and provenance information that were not available at the time of print publication of the CRLB. The image records also contain colour images, improving on the black and white illustrations used in the original CRLB. Images of copies mentioned but were not illustrated in the printed volumes.
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales & British North America & works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Includes (for example) architectural treatises, painting manuals & guidebooks.
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection contains over 96,000 images of titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised edition. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, theology, art and music, politics, and the history of science and medicine.
EEBO Text Creation Partnership is an extension of the EEBO image resource. The project encodes the books in XML with a version of the TEI allowing researchers to do full text and other searches. Already there are around 1500 titles online and with several hundred being added each month it is an increasingly valuable resource. The aim of the EEBO TCP project is eventually to make 25,000 books available in this way.
Works published in the UK & elsewhere during the C18th. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, etc., mostly in English but also in other languages.
Alternative names: 18th Century Collections Online; ECCO
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm, available through its imprint Primary Source Microfilm. In the most ambitious single digitization project ever undertaken, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. When complete, the product will allow full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material, in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides research opportunities in ways previously unavailable to a wide range of data spanning all disciplines. It is one of the largest sources of rare materials ever collected in microfilm and electronic formats. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800. As the eighteenth century opened, the expiration of the strict controls that previously existed over printing, coupled with the birth of the Industrial Revolution, resulted in the proliferation of printing operations across the country and in turn, created an explosion of literacy. For the first time, a large segment of the population was exposed to a vast array of printed material. Social and economic criticism flourished; theories on man and society were set forth and debated.
Full-text books, periodicals & other documents (approaching 2 million); plus maps, manuscripts & approx. 500,000 images & some sound recordings. Items are held in collections all over France.
The digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France giving access to over 90,000 items of printed material (books, periodicals, newspapers etc.) and more than 80,000 images (engravings, maps, etc.) Lists of periodicals, dictionaries, texts are available.
Added features: Thumbnails of works exhibited in these catalogues; photographs of exhibition installations. Includes the major survey exhibitions of the period, e.g. Flemish & Belgian Art 1300-1900 (1927), Italian Art 1200-1900 (1930) and French Art 1200-1900 (1932).
Royal Academy Winter Exhibition catalogues (1870-1939) (Thumbnails of works exhibited in these catalogues; photographs of exhibition installations. Includes the major survey exhibitions of the period, e.g. Flemish & Belgian Art 1300-1900 (1927), Italian Art 1200-1900 (1930) and French Art 1200-1900 (1932).
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout