Skip to Main Content

Art and Architecture: Databases

The Sackler Library is the premier research library for the study of art, architecture and archaeology at Oxford. It incorporates multiple libraries previously housed in separate locations around the University.

Introduction

Databases contain large amounts of data including (but not limited to) statistics, bibliographic information, images and abstracts.

Bibliographic databases are a useful tool for finding scholarly literature in Art and Architecture. For example, journal articles, conference proceedings and books. They are very useful to consult when carrying out your own research because:

  • they provide powerful search functionality
  • have citation tools
  • have thesauri
  • their content is selected by experts in your subject

Bibliographic databases are helpful when you want to start exploring beyond your reading list or are researching a new topic.

On this page you will find recommended databases and guidance on how to search for and access databases.

Databases

Oxford subscribes to lots of databases that are available for free. These can be found in Database A-Z.  You will likely find you need to use several databases for a thorough search of your subject area.

You can click through the different tabs under the 'database' heading to browse all databases which might be relevant to those studying Art and Architecture. 

You can also search for specific databases via SOLO. Note, some key texts may be available via a database but not individually listed on SOLO.

Help with databases

For those seeking advice on accessing databases, we recommend the following guides:

Below are key bibliographic databases applicable to those studying Art and Architecture at Oxford.

Access

Depending on the database provider, you may need to use your Oxford Single Sign On to access materials.

Recommend a database

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have a database you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).