Skip to main content

Archaeology: Regions

A guide to resources for archaeologists at Oxford.

The Americas

Collections
Collections covering the Americas can be found in the Balfour Library, the Bodleian Book Storage Facilty and also the Vere Harmsworth Library.

Key Resources

General

eHRAF Archaeology

The eHRAF (electronic Human Relations Area Files) archaeological database provides researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions. It is organized by regions and archaeological traditions. The database focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world.

North America

Oxford Handbook of North American Archaeology

Central and South America

Oxford Handbook of MesoAmerican Archaeology

The Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.

 

Europe (non-Classical)

Key Resources

British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography (biab): The biab online database contains datasets covering publications from AD 1695 to the present day on archaeology and the historic environment, historic buildings, maritime and industrial archaeology, environmental history, and the conservation of material culture - with a geographical focus on Britain and Ireland.

Atlas of hillforts of Britain and Ireland: This resource maps all 4,147 hillforts for the first time.

Africa

Key Resources
‚ÄčeHRAF Archaeology

The eHRAF (electronic Human Relations Area Files) archaeological database provides researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions. It is organized by regions and archaeological traditions. The database focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes: Documentation of heritage sites including photographs, 3D models, GIS data, and rock art images, linked to contextual materials such as excavation reports, manuscripts, travelogues, maps, and scholarly research.

Asia

Key Resources
ABIA : Index of South and Southeast Asian Art and Archaeology
In-depth bibliography (1928-present) covering South and Southeast Asian art, architecture, archaeology, crafts, inscriptions, palaeography, coins and seals from the region. Includes unique references to literature published in the region, which is often very hard to identify and access.

Oceania

Key Resources

Oxford handbook of Prehistoric Oceania : Chapters present the latest findings and future research directions on the New Guinea region and archipelagos from Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Fiji, Tonga, and Samoa in the western Pacific. Micronesia, East Polynesia, Hawaii, Aotearoa/New Zealand, and Easter Island are also discussed in individual chapters. Chapters on wider disciplinary issues summarize key points of method and theory in Oceanic archaeology, including the generation of explanations, building chronologies, linguistic prehistory, coastline evolution, settlement systems, and maritime migration.

Journal: Archaeology in Oceania : Its primary geographic focus is Australia, the islands of the Pacific Ocean and lands of the western Pacific Rim.