Skip to main content

Archaeology: Using online resources

A guide to resources for archaeologists at Oxford.

'Building a search' handout

Bibliographic databases

Use these databases to explore articles on a specific topic

Anthropology Plus is an abstracting and indexing database combining references from both Anthropological Literature (Harvard) and the Anthropological Index (RAI/UK). A wide array of material (not all of it immediately available in Oxford) is covered from the late 19th century onwards.  The database covers archaeology as well as anthropology.

British Humanities Index: An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK and the United States.1962-current, updated monthly.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences is an abstract and indexing services hosted on the Proquest platform.

Web of Science Core collection includes Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index.  This is an abstracting and indexing service.  It also contains citation information, so can be used to find high impact articles on a topic.

Online resources and primary sources

eHRAF Archaeology: An  archaeological database providing researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions. It is organized by regions and archaeological traditions. The database focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world. Each tradition consists of a general summary and documents including books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts.

where to search

Citation searching (finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication) can be done on Web of Science (Social Sciences Citation Index) or for articles published after 1996 on SCOPUS.