Skip to main content

Archaeology: Finding articles & papers

A guide to resources for archaeologists at Oxford.

'Building a search' handout

Introductory Resources

Oxford Bibliographies : Archaeology : Oxford Bibliographies Online are comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in a given field.

Oxford Handbook of Archaeology : This book is a comprehensive treatment of the subject and covers all the key debates. It is designed to open up the world of archaeology to non-specialists and to provide a starting point for those who want to pursue particular topics in more depth.

Springer encyclopedia of global archaeology : Contains 1626 entries spanning all regions, eras and topics in Archaeology

Finding specific articles and papers

What are you looking for?

Finding a specific journal article:

You can finding links to our print and electronic journals in SOLO or e-Journals A-Z. If you're looking for a particular journal article,  you can search for the journal title in SOLO. SOLO will find references to both print and electronic journals. You can also search for a specific article using the Articles search on SOLO.

If you want to be alerted about new journal issues and tables of contents then sign up for the Zetoc service (see quick guide on this page).

Where to search

Databases A-Z is the platform for searching Oxford's online collections of databases. It can also be used for searching for e-journals.

WorldCat is a global union catalogue of books, web resources, and other material, covering over 40 million records catalogued by major university, research, national and public libraries.

JISC Library Hub Discover is a catalogue for major academic and research libraries in the UK. This is a useful place to search for materials which are not in OLIS or available online. Items can be obtained on inter-library loan.

For web resources on specific regions click on the drop-down menus above.

Citation searching

Citation searching (finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication) can be done on Web of Science (Social Sciences Citation Index) or for articles published after 1996 on SCOPUS.

Finding articles on a topic

If you want to do more general subject searching and explore around a topic use Bibliographic Databases (also known as Abstracting and Indexing Services).  See the 'Using online resources' tab for more information.

JSTOR contains the full-text of many of the classic journals, some as far back as the 1880s.

Hints and tips

When searching in databases think about your keywords, and synonyms for these words. 

Use truncation and Boolean operators.

Your search will develop over time, keep a note of what search terms you have used and what has / hasn't worked.