Skip to Main Content

African Studies: Tools for researchers

Portals for Africa

There are many portals guiding scholars to African studies information on the web.  A selection of key sites are listed below.

Key resources for African Film

Africa Dissertations

ASC Leiden has compiled lists of dissertations on Africa in Dutch Universities. These are largely open access and in English.

Tools for researchers

A key starting point for African research is the list of the main bibliographies and reference works available through the British Library's 'Help for Researchers' page.  This lists current bibliographies; key research and reference guides; other research and bibliographical guides; precolonial and early colonial African history; and Africana holdings in libraries and archives.  Another useful research tool is the Nordic Africa Institute's Guides to Africa on the Internet.

For legal materials see the LibGuide for Sub Saharan African jurisdictions created by the Bodleian Law Library.  For South African law materials search SAFLII which acts as a gateway to reliable and free resources, and the LibGuide for South African Law.

African Studies Libraries and collections outside Oxford

There are a number of key African Studies Libraries.  A selection is listed below:

British Library - Resources for African Studies.

Centre of African Studies Library, University of Cambridge

School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) Library, University of London.

Institute of Commonwealth Studies Library, University of London.

Nordic Africa Institute Library, Uppsala University.

African Studies Centre Library, University of Leiden.

Frankfurt University Library - Africana collections.

Africa Library, GIGA Information Centre, Hamburg.

African film in the Bodleian Libraries

African film is located in several Bodleian Libraries.  The Taylor Institution Library houses African feature films and the English Faculty Library has English-language films from African countries.  The Social Science Library holds the former Refugee Studies Centre's collection of documentary film which covers forced migration and human rights issues in African countries. 

Use the Finding Film libguide to locate African film in the Bodleian Libraries as well as the Film Studies guide for further information on collections in Oxford.

African Studies Thesaurus

The African Studies Thesaurus, created and maintained by the Library at the ASC, Leiden, is a structured vocabulary of 12,100 English terms in the field of African studies