Skip to main content

Resource of the Month: NICE Evidence Search

Bodleian Health Care Libraries resource of the month

Resource of the Month

NICE Evidence – Healthcare Databases Advanced Search (HDAS)

Access

Search MEDLINE, EMBASE, CINAHL, PsycINFO, AMED, British Nursing Index, HMIC and Health Business Elite. Requires OpenAthens account. Or perform a quick search of PubMed (no OpenAthens account required). 

  1. Go to HDAS from any part of the NICE website by clicking on Evidence Services then Journals and Databases at the top right
  2. Click on Begin a Search
  3. Login to NHS OpenAthens at the top right to see the full list of available databases
  4. Choose your database (Medline, Cinahl, HMIC, etc)
  5. Enter your search terms. 
  6. Results are displayed below

If you have any queries, please contact us:
email: hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
tel: (01865 2)21936

 

Content

AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine 1985 to present - covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.

BNI - British Nursing Index 1992 to present - The British Nursing Index (BNI) is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from the most popular English language nursing journals published primarily in the UK. 

CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature 1981 to present - covers all aspects of nursing and allied health disciplines. 
EMBASE - Excerpta Medica Database 1974 to present -  consists of three separate databases: the Excerpta Medica Database (EMBASE), EMBASE Drugs and Pharmacology (EMDP), and EMBASE Psychiatry (EMPS). 

HBE - Health Business Elite 1922 to present - provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. 

HMIC - Health Management Information Consortium 1979 to present - The Health Management Information Consortium (HMIC) database is a compilation of data from two sources, the Department of Health's Library and Information Services and King's Fund Information and Library Service. 

Medline - 1946 to present - Medline is a general medical database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine 

PsycINFO - 1806 to present - PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. 

PubMed - Medline from PubMed 1946 to present - PubMed comprises over 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.