Skip to Main Content

Resource of the Month: EMBASE

Bodleian Health Care Libraries resource of the month

Resource of the Month

EMBASE – database for clinical information and medicines

Access

EMBASE contains a wide array of comprehensive, evidence-based medicine, drug and medical device efficacy studies.  It has access to information on adverse drug events, drug efficacy studies, medical device and disease-related biomedical research information 

The access for these articles and journals is via NICE Evidence Searches database search using your NHS OpenAthens login. You can register for OpenAthens here

Search for a subject. Go to NICE Evidence Services Journals and databases. Click on Begin a Search under HDAS. Login at the top left then click on EMBASE in the database list. Enter your search terms. Once you have found an article you are interested in, click on the ‘Available in full text ...’ link.

If you have any queries, please contact us: email: hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk tel: (2)21936

Content

With Embase, you can search and access:

 

Journal coverage from 1947 to the present 

Over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles 

Over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles 

Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data

Over 1.5 million records added yearly, with an average of over 6,000 each day 

Over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009 

Over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase