Skip to Main Content

NHS: Journals

Subjects: Medicine

Accessing e-journals through the NHS

People working at desks in a library People working at desks in a library

OUH staff can access a huge range of e-journal titles via NHS OpenAthens, comprised of both national subscriptions and further e-journals subscribed to by OUH Trust.

To browse by subject, or search for specific journal titles, use the Knowledge and Library Hub search box on the Databases tab of this help guide. Type in your keywords and press Enter. On the results page you will see a menu bar near the top of the page with the buttons 'Browse Journals' and 'Journals A-Z'. Click either of these and explore.

To access full-text articles you will need to be signed-in with your OpenAthens credentials (see the yellow bar at the top of the page). 

In addition, library members can view the University of Oxford's e-journal subscriptions on our reader PCs in our libraries, or on your own device when connected to the Bodleian Wi-Fi network. 

See the OpenAthens tab for details of how to register.

Local subscriptions to journals

We subscribe to several journals and journal packages. These are available through NHS Knowledge and Library Hub – Journal A-Z. You must be logged in to OpenAthens to see these journals. Each package includes many journals and these all come with the full text of each article.

The packages include: 

Open access resources

Open Access logo -- an unlocked padlock

Did you know that you can access millions of high-quality articles from peer-reviewed academic and clinical journals for free? Many funding bodies now insist that articles based on research that they have paid for must be made available for free for anyone to read. These articles are stored in thousands of different subject and organizational databases across the Web, but there are a number of 'one-stop' search tools that will help you find articles on the topics that you are interested in. Take a look at our Open Access Articles tab in this guide to try some of these out. 

Searching by subject

If you are searching for a topic or subject rather than a specific article you might like to search the literature using The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub. There are databases that cover all of the professions working in the NHS.

Databases available include Medline, Embase, CINAHL, the British Nursing Index and HMIC (for health management topics).

See the Databases tab for more information. 

Access using the library catalogue

If you are in our Oxford libraries you can search for University of Oxford journal titles through e-Journals A-Z.

  • Type in the name of the journal and click 'Go'
  • From the list of results, click on the title of the journal that you would like to view

[Tip: You'll need to search for the journal title and not the article title]

You must be on a Bodleian Library computer or Wi-Fi network to access University resources.

Interlibrary loan

In some cases the journal article you want to read will not be available using NHS OpenAthens or in the university collections. You can use our Document Supply service to request a copy of journal articles. There is currently no charge for this service for NHS staff. 

Brief Journal Club Guide