Skip to main content

NHS: Books

Subjects: Medicine

Books in the Library

The Bodleian Health Care Libraries house a collection of around 25,000 books.

  • These are available during staffed hours.
  • Your library membership entitles you to borrow books from our sites, and return books to whichever site is most convenient.
  • You can borrow books for 2 weeks, and fines for late renewal/return are charged at the rate of 50p per day.

Finding books: SOLO

SOLO is our primary search and discovery tool for the Oxford Libraries' collections of resources. 

To search Bodleian Health Care Libraries' resources specifically, choose "Health Care Libraries - All" from the dropdown menu called "All libraries/collections" in SOLO.

To search the Horton library print collection, select "Health Care Libraries - Horton" from the drop down menu. 

A search not specifying the Health Care Libraries will bring back results from a number of different sources, currently Oxford's union catalogue of printed and electronic books and journals, ORA (Oxford University Research Archive), and a title link to the 1,400+ databases on Databases A-Z. These are available to NHS staff if you are visiting the Bodleian Health Care Libraries within Oxford.

Borrowing

You can visit any of our libraries to borrow books but you do not have to make a special trip.  lf the book you want is not on your nearest site you can request it online using the library catalogue and it will be brought to the library of your choice.

Recommend new books

If there is a book you think the library should have, please contact us at hcl-enquiries.ox.ac.uk. Every acquisition is added to the library's catalogue, and print items are made available for loan or reference in the appropriate library.

Kortext eBooks

Access to Kortext eBooks for OUH Trust Staff

 

OUH Trust staff now have access to Kortext, an online platform of eBooks on nursing, palliative care, health management, primary care, general practice, mentoring and coaching.

Kortext eBooks come with added features like the ability to highlight text, bookmark pages, share notes and export to reference management software. Some of the eBooks include enhanced accessibility/display options, interactive features, videos and links to external resources.

How to Access Kortext eBooks

  1. Log in to your OpenAthens account.
  2. Go to My Resources and click on the link to Kortext eBooks.
  3. Click on the Collections tab at the top of the page for the full collection of eBooks. Scroll through the collection or use the search bar at the top of the page. Once you access a book it will be saved to your virtual bookshelf for 7 days.
  4. Click on the Books tab at the top of the page to view your virtual bookshelf.

Don’t have an OpenAthens account? Click here for more information about NHS OpenAthens including how to register for your free account.  

Kortext App

Download the Kortext desktop and mobile app for offline access. For more information visit https://www.kortext.com/support/

If you have any questions about this resource, please contact us at hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk; tel: 01865 (2)21936 

ebook collections

Oxford Medicine Online

You can now access the full collection of Oxford University Press ebooks in health via Oxford Medicine Online.  So every Oxford HandbookOxford TextbookEmergencies inOxford Desk References whenever you need it. And online offers additional possibilities so the Oxford Textbook of Medicine was updated in February and includes extra chapters, videos and so on. You can download high quality images for your power point slides.

To login via OpenAthens - go to OxfordMedicine.com select "Sign in" and then "Login with Athens/Access Management Federation".  At this point you need to identify yourself as being part of "NHS England" by either typing into the list or selecting the option when offered if you have accessed the site before.  You will then be prompted for your OpenAthens login.


The Royal Marsden Hospital Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures

The Royal Marsden Manual available within OUHi (OXNET login is required), or remotely with NHS OpenAthens login

Getting started using ebooks

There is a collection of ebooks available via eBook Central using your NHS OpenAthens login. These include:

  • Leadership and Nursing by Speedy, Sandra; Daly, John; and more  Elsevier Health Sciences APAC  2014
  • Evidence-Based Practice Across the Health Professions by Bennett, Sally; Hoffmann, Tammy; and more  Elsevier Health Sciences APAC  2013
  • Practice Development in Nursing and Healthcare by Manley, Kim; Titchen, Angie  Wiley  2013
  • Managing Change in Healthcare by  Parkin, Paul  SAGE Publications  2009
  • Clinical Leadership by  Weir-Hughes, Dickon  Taylor and Francis  2013

You can also find the e-books on SOLO, the library catalogue.

Go to our Online Books page to see a full list of e-books available with links.


The University of Oxford ebooks listed on the Library Catalogue are also accessible from library computers within Oxford.