Skip to main content

Middle East + Islamic Studies: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying aspects of West Asia, North Africa, the Caucasus or Central Asia at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for these areas, including printed collections, ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for Middle Eastern Studies

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks and printed books for Middle Eastern Studies and related subjects. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for Middle Eastern Studies but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Middle Eastern Studies below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Useful online resource

listing of free online resources encompassing digitized books and manuscripts, statistics, oral history and more.

Nizami Ganjavi Subject Librarian (Middle Eastern and Islamic Collections)

Profile Photo
Lydia Wright
Contact:
Bodleian Nizami Ganjavi Library,
Oriental Institute, Oxford
+44 (0)1865 278204

Key libraries

Oriental Institute