Skip to main content

FHS Course I - Paper 5: Literature in English 1760-1830: Journal Articles

MLA Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography indexes articles from over 4,000 humanities journals from 1926 to the present. You can search for articles by author, subject or title, and complex combined keyword searches are also possible. 

The MLA also provides links to the library catalogue and full text articles, where available. Library staff will be pleased to help with your searches wherever possible.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major journals.

Periodicals Archive Online

An online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, Periodicals Archive Online offers unprecedented access to international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 2000. Many journals are non-English. Oxford has access to Collections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7, which also includes The Spectator 1828-2000.

Literature Online

Literature Online not only provides access to the full text of more than 350,000 British and American original works, it also provides access to articles from over 430 scholarly journals. Coverage is extended by the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), one of the most important bibliographic sources for English studies.

 

Subject areas covered by ABELL include:

  • English language – including syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics and dialectology
  • English literature – including poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors
  • bibliography – including manuscript studies, textual studies and the history of publishing
  • traditional culture of the English-speaking world including custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture.