Skip to main content

FHS Course I - Paper 3: Literature in English 1550-1660: Bibliographies & Catalogues

Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies are comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship. Oxford Bibliographies provides a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources. Every article in the database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations.

The site includes bibliographies on British & Irish Literature, Renaissance & Reformation Literature, as well as bibliographies on specific authors. You can use the  button to search SOLO for e-books of recommended items.

Milton: a Bibliography (1624-1799)

Milton: a bibliography tries to bring together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799.

 

 

Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640

The Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640 has evolved into a still-growing list of scholarship about 738 recovered writers and located texts, canonical and non-canonical. It identifies many hitherto unknown writers, including among them not only already familiar figures, but also women refugees such as the recusants, women in the colonies, Marrano women (Anusot), women translators, and English women writers in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh.

 

Lost Plays Database

The Lost Plays Database is a wiki-style forum for scholars to share information about lost plays in England, 1570-1642. Its purpose is to add lost plays to scholarly discussions of early modern theatrical activity. The database provides a web-accessible, web-editable site for data on these plays concerning theatrical provenance, sources, genre, and authorship.

Users of the Lost Plays Database will find information drawn from the following:

  • Stationers' Register
  • Henslowe's Diary
  • Legal records
  • Narrative and dramatic sources
  • Scholarly commentary
  • Online databases and digital archives