AWOL - Ancient World Online is in the first instance a database for open access material relating to the ancient world, inc Ancient Near Eastern Studies.
CORE - CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all. A vast amount of material on Ancient Near Eastern Studies can be accessed through this portal.
Online Resources for Mesopotamia - The Department of Archaeology at the University of Cambridge maintains this portal which offers a very good selection of online resources for Mesopotamia (freely available online tools, dictionaries, text editions and translations, series etc). NB: you need to be a member of University of Cambridge in order to access the journal links. Instead search the holdings of the institution's library you are affiliated to.
Open Educational Resources for the Ancient Near East - Portal for mainly freely available electronic resources relating to the Ancient Near East (inc a few resources about Ancient Egypt) based at the University of Central California.
ACOR - The American Center of Oriental Research promotes research and publication across disciplines with a special emphasis on archaeology in the region, inc a Blog, online newsletter and photoarchive.
Archaeological Gazetteer of Iran - The Archaeological Gazetteer of Iran is a free-access, web-based encyclopedia of archaeological sites, places, and monuments in the Iranian World. The Gazetteer covers sites ranging in date from the Lower Palaeolithic period to the fourteenth century. The entries are structured and include name, location, and geographical coordinates, history and description, archaeological exploration, maps, illustrations, and a bibliography.
ARCHIBAB - Archives Babyloniennes is a bibliographic database with a wide range of search options for Babylonian material.
Archival Texts of the Assyrian Empire - The aim of this project is to expand the Nineveh-focused State Archives of Assyria online (SAAo) corpus by creating a complete, open-access corpus of Neo-Assyrian archival texts. Unlike SAAo, the linguistical-annotated texts in the ATAE corpus are arranged by their provenance and the archive in which they were unearthed.
BDTNS - The Database of Neo-Sumerian Texts is searchable electronic corpus of Neo-Sumerian administrative cuneiform tablets dated to the 21st century B.C.
CAD - Online Assyrian Dictionary of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago (CAD)
Chicago Hittite Dictionary - Initiated in 1975 the Chicago Hittite Dictionary Project is a project of the University of Chicago's Oriental Institute, aiming to provide a complete dictionary of the Hittite language.
cdli - The Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative provides a vast database of objects with cuneiform inscriptions as well as a myriad of links and information pivotal for Ancient Near Eastern Studies.
DAI Orient Department - Research, publications and news published by the Oriental Department of the German Archaeological Institute.
Digital Corpus of Cuneiform Lexical Texts - The DCCLT publishes editions and translations of cuneiform lexical texts from all periods of Mesopotamian history with glossaries.
Ebla Chora Project - The core of this web project is represented by the possibility of visualizing the GIS map with shapefiles about the Early Bronze Age settlements within the ECP area, visualized through maps at different scales, aerial photos, DEM, and various sets of satellite imagery.
Ebla Digital Archives - The aim of the Ebla Digital Archives database is to provide a digital edition of the entire corpus of cuneiform texts belonging to the Ebla Royal Archives.
Electronic Corpus of Urartian Texts - eCUT is the first electronic corpus of the written sources from the kingdom of Urartu. It presents Urartian texts in transliterations with annotations of individual words (lemmatization), English translations, and glossaries of Urartian words, proper nouns, and logograms. The editions are based on Mirjo Salvini's Corpus dei testi urartei I–V.
ETANA - Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives is an electronic publishing project designed to enhance the study of the history and culture of the Ancient Near East. MOST OF THE LINKS ARE CURRENTLY BROKEN.
Hethitologie Portal Mainz - Portal for Hittitology based at the University of Mainz, listing bibliographies, projects, photo collections, eresources and news.
Hittite Personal Names - This database on the PNs attested in the Hittite written sources (cuneiform texts, seals, and hieroglyphic inscriptions) is based on the available publications and repertoires (including M.-C. Trémouille’s Répertoire Onomastique at HPM), expanded and integrated by a non-systematic review of the secondary literature as well as by original research.
Iconography of Deities and Demons in the Ancient Near East - The IDD is designed as a companion to the Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible (DDD), edited by Karel van der Toorn, Bob Becking and Pieter van der Horst (Leiden: Brill, 2nd edition 1999). Its focus will be on visual sources, which are essential for interpreting the religious symbol systems of antiquity.
KeiBi online - Online cuneiform bibliography.
LaBaSi - Late Babylonian Signs is an on-line cuneiform sign list that will elucidate the diachronic development of sign forms. It will allow the identification of standard forms as well as of scribal idiosyncrasies in the Late Babylonian period.
Monuments of Syria - This website, which is in English and in Arabic, was initiated in mid-2011, shortly after the war broke out in Syria. The intention of the website's creator is to "keep alive the memory of Syria's extraordinarily diverse past" while the country is closed to visitors.
Open Richly Annotated Cuneiform Corpus (ORACC) - ORACC is a collaborative effort to develop a complete corpus of cuneiform whose rich annotation and open licensing support the next generation of scholarly research. Comprises a highly useful project list.
Oriental Institute Chicago - Information about its collection, events, publications (inc electronic), library, archive and excavations.
Pennsylvania Sumerian Dictionary - The Pennsylvania Sumerian Dictionary Project is preparing an exhaustive dictionary of the Sumerian language which aims to be useful to non-specialists as well as Sumerologists. In addition, we are developing tools and datasets for working with the Sumerian language and its text-corpora.
PROSOBAB - Prosopography of Babylonia is a database of the recorded inhabitants of Babylonia between c. 620 and 330 BCE. Its main focus is on individuals who lived in southern Mesopotamia under Persian rule (539-330 BCE), but it also includes the preceding period of the Neo-Babylonian Empire. Additionally PROSOBAB collects information on the texts and archives in which the individuals are recorded.
Ressources assyriologiques sur internet - Open Access article by Dominique Charpin in Bibliotheca Orientalis 71 (2014) listing electronic resources for Assyriology.
Sources of Early Akkadian Literature - SEAL aims to compile an exhaustive catalogue of Akkadian literary texts from the 3rd and 2nd millennia BCE, to present this corpus in such a way as to enable the efficient study of the entire early Akkadian corpus in all its philological, literary, and historical dimensions. Many of the editions in SEAL rely on new collations and photographs.
SAAo - State Archives of Assyria online is an open-access web resource that aims to make the rich Neo-Assyrian materials found in the royal archives of Nineveh, and elsewhere, more widely accessible.
UrOnline - UrOnline preserves digitally and invites in-depth exploration of the finds and records from the site of Ur.
Virtual Cuneiform Tablet Reconstruction Project - The Virtual Cuneiform Tablet Reconstruction Project is an international collaboration inspired by the ambition to support virtual access to cuneiform artefacts and to reconstruct cuneiform tablets by joining virtual fragments together. The project aims to support and resource low-cost and easy-to-use 3D acquisition systems, advance automated virtual reconstruction algorithms, evolve a collaborative reconstruction environment and facilitate interactive on-line 3D archiving.
Writing Sumerian - The corpus is intended as a research tool for the study of Sumerian writing and language, currently comprising 113,770 Sumerian texts in 161,405 transliterations, dating from the Fara period to the Early Old Babylonian period. It seeks to make a significant part of the Sumerian language material available in a consistent, easily accessible, fully searchable form while providing the most relevant context information.
ZODIAC - Ancient Astral Science in Transformation - ZODIAC aims to develop a new account of the emergence, spread and cross-cultural transformations of zodiacal astral science in Babylonia, Egypt and the Graeco-Roman world. The website includes a bibliography.
CDLI - Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative
Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) - The DLME has begun to federate Middle Eastern collections from around the world, creating a publicly accessible, inter-operable digital library of cultural material.
EThOS - Based at the British Library EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
MetPublications - This is a portal to the Metropolitan Museum's comprehensive publishing programme with over 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.
ODNB - The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography contains full-text extended essays not only on British people but also non-Brits who spent time in the UK. Excellent resource for finding biographical information on archaeologists, art patrons, collectors and dealers. People still alive are excluded.
Oxford Digital Theses - Digital theses and Oxford University Research Archive (ORA).
ProQuest - Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations / theses written for academic institutions in Ireland, North America (Canada & the US), the UK & other countries.
Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center (US) - Access to 2 million+ museum, archive, library and research holdings and collections across the Smithsonian's various sub-entities.
Times Digital Archive (1785-2012) - The Times Digital Archive (1785-2012) contain over 11 million articles on everything from history and literature to culture and art, inc archaeology.