More bibliographical resources
This is the "Home" page of the "History, American" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History, American  

Last Updated: Dec 20, 2012 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/ushistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to use the guide

This guide aims to give an overview of some of the most important and useful finding aids and collections.

Click on any of the tabs to find relevant resources:

The Vere Harmsworth Library is Oxford's research library for US History and the History Faculty Library holds the teaching collections. Check their websites for information on location, opening hours, services and collections.

 

Search SOLO

 

VHL's latest bookmarks on delicious

There are a huge (and growing) number of freely available online resources for US History. The VHL is saving links to many of these as we come across them on our delicious page.

Visit http://delicious.com/vhllib for more.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Getting started

Finding books and journals

Use SOLO to search for books, journals and databases held in Oxford libraries (Bodleian, faculty libraries and college libraries).

Use author and/or title searches to find books:

author = carwardine + title = lincoln.

Use subject searches if you don't know the title or author:

subject = United States - History - Civil War, 1861-1865

Key journals via OU eJournals

  • American Historical Review
  • Early American Studies
  • Journal of American History
  • Journal of American Studies
  • Journal of the Early Republic
  • Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
  • Massachusetts Historical Review
  • William & Mary Quarterly

Finding journal articles

Don't search for journal articles in SOLO! If you know the journal it was published in, search by journal title. If you don't know where an article has been published in, the best way to locate journal articles by a particular author or on a particular subject, is to use a bibliographical database.

  1. America: History & Life (c. 1450-current)
  2. Bibliography of British & Irish History (useful for colonial American history)

Finding dissertations & theses

  1. Oxford theses: Use SOLO in the first instance. See also Theses website for more information.
  2. British & Irish theses: Use Index to Theses and check out EThos, the British Library's service for downloading of theses from UK universities.
  3. US theses: Use Dissertations & Theses to search, and Dissertations & Theses: the Humanities & Social Science Collection to access full text of most theses published since 1997 and many older works too. NB, if full text is not available, it can be very difficult to get hold of US theses from the UK.

More information

 

US Studies Resources at Oxford blog

This blog is designed to help students and researchers using the US Studies collections held at the Vere Harmsworth Library, as well as to highlight the variety of resources that are available both in Oxford and more widely. Posts cover tips on using specific resources as well as guidance on resources available for specific subject areas.

Visit the blog directly at http://vhlresources.blogspot.com

 

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

New books at the VHL

Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you).

You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip