Skip to main content

United Nations: Starting your search and links to resources

Useful resources

Starting your search

A good starting point for information on a particular topic is the Yearbook of the United Nations The Yearbook stands as the authoritative reference work on the activities and concerns of the Organization. Based on official UN documents, the Yearbook provides comprehensive coverage of political and security matters, human rights issues, economic and social questions, legal issues, and institutional, administrative and budgetary matters.

The United Nations has produced a large range of research guides to guide you in your research, topics include: human rights, international law, UN resources and climate change.

UN Documentation an overview Advice on searching for the different types of records generated by the UN to include: meeting records, letters, resolutions and decisions, documents and press releases.

Searching tools:

UNBISNET : United Nations Bibliographic Information System
Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Comprehensive coverage from 1979 though many earlier documents also available. Search by subject and by document number. Many documents are available in full text.

ODS Search  Official Documents of the United Nations
ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.

UN-I-QUE United Nations Info Quest
Provides citation to the symbols for documents throughout the history of the organization: each record within UN-I-QUE is historically comprehensive. UN-I-QUE does not provide citation to all documents, but to certain documents of a recurrent nature. As of 2014, the database is no longer updated

Sales publiations have records on SOLO and many are available online. Print copies are available on open shelf in the Official Papers reading room. The latest sales publications are listed on the United Nations publications website

 

UN News Centre

You can select RSS news feeds by subject or region.

Loading

UN Pulse

UN Pulse alerts you to selected just released UN online information, major reports, publications and documents.

Loading