Skip to main content

Trinity College Library: Trinity College Library

Subjects: College Libraries

NEWS

:

  • Welcome to the new WISC students!
  • Self return. Books should be checked in on the self issue terminal and then returned to the book box in the Upper Library. Choose 'check in' option and pile your books on the scanner pad. You do not need your Bod card for this. Check that the books have been checked in successfully and put in the book returns box. Books not currently on loan or without a new security tag will not check in and you will get an error message but put them in the returns box anyway. Full instructions next to terminal. N.B. There may be glitches with the system to start off with so check your overdue notices carefully and let me know if there are any problems.
  • Lockers: There are still a few lockers available in the library basement for Trinity finalists and postgrads living out. Please ask me for a key. First come first served!
  • Tidiness and desks: The usual reminder to only use one desk, keep it tidy, use a 'please leave these books' form and be prepared to share desks as the library gets busy.

Finding books, journals and databases

The University library catalogue SOLO includes printed books and journals for most Oxford libraries.

You can search by author, title or subject and can limit your results to Trinity Library should you wish.

Here is a guide to using SOLO.

Ebooks, electronic journals and databases can also be accessed through SOLO. Lists of databases and journals, ordered alphabetically or by subject, are also available through the OxLIP+ (databases) or OU-EJournal links on the SOLO homepage.

Here is a guide to using these resources,

There are regular training sessions on SOLO, and specialised subject databases, run as part of the iSkills programme.

 

Book Suggestions

If you cannot find a book on your reading list in the Library, or if you would like to suggest a book purchase please contact the Librarian.

Although we welcome book suggestions  it may not be possible to buy every book. Multiple copies of text books are available in the Library and it is recommended that you share books with your colleagues whenever possible.

 

Trinity Library

Trinity Library is open  to any member of the College, 24 hours a day, every day. Access is by fob.

Note: Members of other Oxford colleges will not normally be admitted to the Library. However, if the book you are looking for is unavailable elsewhere in Oxford it should be possible to arrange reference access. Please contact the Librarian to discuss this.

The Library consists of 2 reading rooms and a gallery:

The Upper Library contains classics, history, english and european language and literature, politics and sociology. There is also a reference collection of dictionaries, atlases etc. The Upper Library also holds current copies of printed journals, for reference; a small collection of study skills and self help books and books in the 'Very Short Introduction' series. The self-issue terminal is also located in the Upper Library.

The Lower Library holds books on science and medicine as well as  philosophy, psychology, economics, management, law and film studies. It also contains a number of pcs and a printer / photocopier / scanner.

The Gallery, accessed from the Upper Library, contains theology books and backruns of printed journals.

Floorplans of the Library are available at the bottom of this page. Note: they may only be viewable from a library pc.

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Sharon Cure's picture
Sharon Cure
Contact:
Trinity College
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BH
01865 279863
Website / Blog Page

Library rules

Please help keep the Library a pleasant environment to work in by observing a few simple rules:

  • The library is a no-smoking environment  -including e-cigarettes
  • Please do not bring food or drink into the Library, with the exception of bottled water.
  • Switch your mobile phone off, or set it to silent ring.
  • Keep other noise to a minimum.
  • Do not leave personal belongings unattended.
  • Please keep the Library as clean and tidy as possible. Desk space is limited, so please do not 'hog' desks. See 'using books in the Library' for more information. Hotdesks will be cleared daily.