Skip to main content

Taylor Institution Library Guide: Home

Modern Languages in Oxford (West European)

Contact details

Taylor Institution Library

Taylor Institution Library,
St Giles',
Oxford.
OX1 3NA

tel: (01865) 2-78158

email:
tay-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

website: www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/taylor

Taylor Librarian: James Legg

Subject Team Leader: Joanne Ferrari

Operations Manager: Frank Egerton

 FACEBOOK

 Follow TAYOxford on Twitter

Link to this site:

Taylor_Inst_Library_QR_code

Taylor Institution Library Virtual Tour

Stuck in the stacks? Bamboozled by the basement? Overwhelmed by oversize? Baffled by B.Per? Discover the library with our virtual tour!

About the Taylor Institution Library

The Taylor Institution is the University’s centre for the study of modern European languages and literatures, other than English.

Its Library contains the largest specialist research collections in the field in Britain and also a separate teaching collection for undergraduates and taught postgraduates.

It is primarily a lending library for members of the University.

Library staff are here to help, so please ask.

Library collections

  • The Research Collection include materials for the study of French, German, Italian, Modern Greek, Slavonic languages, Spanish and Portuguese (including Latin American) and Linguistics.
  • Several smaller language fields such as Celtic, Yiddish, Catalan and Romanian are also represented.
  • The Library houses a number of special collections, including, for example, the Enlightenment collection in the Voltaire Room.
  • The Teaching Collection include books for undergraduate and taught postgraduate courses (including Film Studies), as well as some newspapers and magazines. 

Opening hours

September–July
Monday–Friday: 9 am–7 pm
Saturday: 10 am–4 pm

August
Monday–Friday: 9 am–5 pm
Saturday: 10 am–4 pm

For details of closed periods and updates about opening times, please visit the Library website.

Search collections

To limit search to just this library, change "All libraries/collections" to "Taylor Institution Library"

For help with using SOLO, see these guides: