Skip to main content

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Getting Started

NEWS

THOMSON REUTERS EIKON

A financial market intelligence database that replaces Thomson Reuters’ previous products ‘Datastream’ and ‘Thomson One’ now available on one desktop workstation in the “SSL Data Area”.
It provides information on markets, indices, company and economic information and historical financial data. It provides access to trusted, up to the minute and accurate content from more than 5 million securities world-wide. Coverage includes Pricing Data, Research, Fundamentals, Financial Estimates, News and Charts.

More information is available on SOLO and on directly from Thomson Reuters along with their training materials. Guides are available in the SSL Data Area or to download from the SSL website guides section.

How to find

SRMO

SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO)

A collection of ebook content put together to help understand research methods. The site includes access to the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series as well as dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks and other commissioned material; also includes a unique methods map and a discussion forum.

Big Data on lynda.com

Big Data Tutorials on lynda.com

Just use your Single sign-on (SSO) to find out about Big Data, a phrase used to quantify data sets that are so large and complex that they become difficult to exchange, secure, and analyze with typical tools. These courses on big data show you how to solve these problems, and many more, with leading IT tools and techniques.

WORK IN PROGRESS:

Some of the links in this LibGuide are broken due to a system-wide change. We are aware of this, and are fixing the links. In the meantime, you will find all of the Bodleian Libraries subscription resources listed at A-Z Databases and SOLO.

See the latest print and digital resources in Social Sciences research methods, purchased by the Bodleian Social Sciences library.

Social Science Data

Bodleian Libraries

Provide access to an extensive collection of databases via OxLIP+.

Bodleian Data Library (BDL)

Provides a range of services for researchers & students at the University of Oxford who need to make secondary use of statistics and data.

Nuffield College Library

The largest social science library outside of the Bodleian Libraries holds collections relating to the interests of College members.

Contact the Bodleian Social Science Library if you wish to ask a question or seek more help .

Subject and Data Librarian

John Southall's picture
John Southall
Contact:
Bodleian Social Science Library
Manor Road, Oxford, OX1 3UQ
+44 (0)1865 2-85936
Website

Data Explorer

Google Public Data Explorer

Makes large public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize & communicate. As the charts and maps animate over time, the changes in the world become easier to understand. You can navigate between different views, make your own comparisons, and share your findings.

Remote access

Search fot data on OXLIP+

Start your search for a database on OxLIP+

          
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other
     
Results: