Skip to main content

Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: Getting started

Subjects: Refugee Studies

Refugee Studies Collections

This LibGuide describes the Refugee Studies collections available at the Bodleian Social Science Library and relevant online resources.

The Library contains the collections of the former Refugee Studies Centre (RSC) Library and houses material supporting the research and teaching of the RSC.
The collections cover the causes, experiences, and consequences of forced displacement and have an international coverage. Reflecting the multi-disciplinary nature of the study of forced migration, the Library actively collects materials covering psycho-social issues, human rights, refugee law, relief administration, anthropology, sociology, international affairs, education, health and nutrition.

The LibGuide for Displaced persons: human rights protection and legal resources provides a wealth of links via the Bodleian Law Library.

See the LibGuide Official Papers for Refugee Studies for information on the Official Papers held in the Bodleian Law Library and links to many other sources.

How to find ...

What do people think about politics?

What do people think about politics?
The 2017 Audit of Political Engagement from the Hansard Society is based on an annual survey of the public conducted by Ipsos MORI between 2 December 2016 and 15 January 2017. The research was carried out face-to-face in people’s homes and considers attitudes towards Brexit, levels of political participation, perception of politics, parliament and politicians.
Political Disengagement in the UK: Who is Disengaged, a House of Commons library research briefing, summarises recent research on the topic.

Collection Policy for Refugee Studies

The Collection Policy for Refugee and Forced Migration Studies in the Bodleian Libraries

Key websites

Subject Guide

Sarah Rhodes
Contact:
Bodleian Social Science Library,
University of Oxford, Manor Road Building,
Oxford,
OX1 3UQ
+44(0)1865 2-85998

External readers

If you are not a member of the University you will need to apply for a reader's ticket from the Bodleian Libraries Admissions office.

Where to search

Search SOLO, Oxford Libraries' catalogue, to find books, grey literature and journal titles.

Use OxLIP+ to search bibliographic databases/online resources and titles of e-journals.

Remote access

Ways to access OxLIP+ databases (e.g. Sociological Abstracts, IBSS) off campus:

1.  Single Sign On. Sign on to SOLO, OxLIP+ or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus.

2.  VPN (Virtual Private Network). Register with OUCS to log on to the network via VPN. Once logged on you can access all e-resources as if you were on campus.

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.