Skip to main content

Managing your references: Legacy RefWorks

RefWorks news alert

Which version of RefWorks?

A new version of RefWorks has recently been launched by the developers, Proquest.  This new version will run alongside the existing version of RefWorks (now referred to as “Legacy RefWorks”)  until January 2018.

Although both versions are now available, it is not currently possible to edit documents in New RefWorks if they have previously been used with Legacy RefWorks. For this reason we strongly recommend that existing RefWorks users at Oxford University delay moving to the new version of RefWorks for the time being.  > Find out more

RefMobile

RefWorks has a mobile interface - RefMobile

View, search, add references to and add notes to your RefWorks library on the move.

Share references

Share folders of references with colleagues.

RefWorks users will be able to directly export references from the shared folder into their account.

A RefWorks account is not required to access a RefWorks shared folder.

System Requirements

Alert

Alert May 2017: Footnotes users are experiencing a number of problems with RefWorks. In particular, the RefWorks MS Word plugin "Write n Cite"  is currently causing Word to crash when inserting footnotes which include URLs or which have special formatting. In addition, the RefWorks plug in for Word 2016 for Mac ("RefWorks Citation Manager") is occasionally inserting rogue characters into footnotes.  Neither problem affects in-text author-date style citations.  We are discussing these issues with RefWorks as a matter of priority. In the meantime, if you are having difficulties please contact reference-management@bodleian.ox.ac.uk for help

How does it work?

RefWorks is a web-based reference manager provided free to members of Oxford University via the Bodleian Libraries' institutional subscription.  You can log in to RefWorks using your Oxford Single Sign-On or you can create an individual account. 

Registration / log in page

Collecting references

Direct export

You can export or push references to RefWorks from many online databases, library catalogues such as SOLO and from Google Scholar.  

  1. First run your search in the database or library catalogue.
  2. On the results page look for options such as "Export", "Save",  "Push" or "Reference Management".   Unfortunately, different databases use different language. 
  3. Once you have chosen Export (or Save, Push etc)  you will often be given a choice of reference manager - choose RefWorks.
  4. Once you have chosen to "Export to RefWorks" (or push to RefWorks, save to RefWorks etc) you will be asked whether you wish to export to "Legacy RefWorks" or "New RefWorks". Choose "Legacy RefWorks".

Indirect export

Some online databases do not have a direct export option. Where this is the case you can often save your results as "RIS" or plain text files. These can then be imported in to RefWorks.

  1. Run your search in the database or library catalogue.
  2. On the results page look for options  to "Export" or "Save". 
  3. Once you have chosen Export (or Save)  choose "RIS", "TXT" or "RefWorks tagged format" and save the file to a location on your computer where you will be able to find it (e.g. c:/downloads)
  4. Open RefWorks and choose References followed by Import
  5. You will be prompted to choose an "Import filter". If you can find the name of the database or library catalogue you used in the list - use that. If not, choose RIS, TXT or RefWorks tagged format
  6. Click Browse and navigate to find the file that you saved (e.g. in c/downloads)
  7. Choose Import.

The Import References function can also be used to pull in references from other reference managers such as Endnote, Mendeley or Zotero

Capture with RefGrab-It

You can save references to web pages by installing the RefGrab-It tool in your browser. To do this, open Refworks and choose Tools - RefGrabit.

Once you have installed the plug in, click on it when you want to add a web page to RefWorks.

Manually

Choose Add Reference. This will pull up a form for you to fill in.

Citations and bibliographies

Cite references and create bibliographies in MS Word documents in with Write-N-Cite.

There are hundreds of different Citation Output Styles to choose from. Go to Bibliography and select Output Styles Manager to view the List of Styles.

To install Write-N-Cite log in to Refworks, choose Write-N-Cite from the Tools menu.

There is a guide to using both the the old and new versions of Write-N-Cite in RefWorks Help in the Writing Your Paper and Creating Your Bibliography section.

Need help with Legacy RefWorks?

For help with Legacy RefWorks please contact reference.management@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Quick start guide from the Bodleian Libraries

RefWorks Tutorial provides video instructions on how to use RefWorks.

Go to Help and select the Tutorial link. An introductory video tutorial starts immidiately.

Look further down the page for more detailed video tutorials.