Skip to main content

Philosophy: Home

Contacts

Hilla Wait (Philosophy Subject Librarian)
tel: 01865 276927
email: hilla.wait@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Other links

Bodleian iSkills and other Workshops (Information skills, accessing resources, open access and more) These workshops are aimed at researchers, academic staff, research students and librarians from across the University.

PCAS (Printing, Copying and Scanning) Guides on using this service in the Bodleian Libraries.

Philosophy of Science LibGuide A guide to studying philosophy of science, mathematics and physics at Oxford.

All LibGuides A wide range of research, resource and library guides are available.

Bible Studies Libguide  A guide to Bible Studies resources, both print and electronic.

 

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Principal collections

Library resources in Philosophy are provided at the Bodleian Library and the Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library.

The Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library is the main lending library for philosophy at Oxford, for both taught courses and research. The library purchases almost all its holdings, and multiple copies are provided of frequently-used books.

The Bodleian Library is the University's largest library, holding the legal deposit collection of all UK copyright books and journals; its holdings exceed 6 million books. It also purchases extensively from outside the UK. The most frequently-used philosophy books are housed on open shelves in the Philosophy Reading Room of the Lower Reading Room, Old Bodleian Library (see map). Books at the Bodleian are for reference only and cannot be borrowed. Extensive off-site stacks house less-commonly-used books that you may order to library reading rooms.

The Bodleian also provides extensive manuscript and incunable holdings, from ancient philosophy to the modern era. In the field of early modern philosophy, the Library's outstanding collection is that of John Locke (1632-1704). Also notable are two manuscript drafts of Wittgenstein's Tractatus logico-philosophicus, and papers from other modern philosophers such as A.J. Ayer, Isaiah Berlin, and R.G. Collingwood. For more information see the Special Collections pages.

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Other collections

Some texts on the philosophy of science, mathematics, logic and psychology are located in the Radcliffe Science Library. Jurisprudence (philosophy of law) is located at the Bodleian Law Library.

For Oriental philosophy, see the Oriental Institute and China Centre Library, and for further texts on Jewish philosophy, see the Leopold Muller Memorial Library.

Other subject libraries, for example the Social Science Library, the History Faculty Library, the Taylor Institution Library (modern languages), and the Sackler (classics) may also hold material of interest to philosophers.

All of these libraries' collections can be searched via SOLO.

Important eResources

Oxford's electronic philosophy resources may be accessed through Databases A-Z, which is accessible on any computer on the University network, and remotely for those with an Oxford Single-Sign On.

e-Journals A-Z provides access to the many online philosophy periodicals to which Oxford subscribes.

Oxford subcribes to various relevant databases, such as Philosopher's Index and ATLA (the American Theological Library Association). There are extensive online resources for primary and secondary philosophy texts, for example, Perseus, Past Masters, Oxford Scholarship Online, Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy and many more. (See the Philosophy menu in Databases A-Z for a full list of philosophy e-resources).

Collection overview

New Books Some of the most recent philosophy and theology acquisitions to the Philosophy & Theology Faculties Library. You will find most of them on our New Books Display.