Skip to main content

Finding and connecting to e-resources (e-books, e-journals & databases): OxLIP+ for e-journals

OxLIP+ Finding e-Journals in 5 easy steps

Find e-Journal is used to locate specific journals by title (e.g. Nature). You should use it when you already know the title of the journal that you wish to use, for example from a reading list, bibliography or recommendation.   

Find e-Journal should not be used for literature searching (for example searching for papers by keyword or subject).  To find papers by keyword or subject you should use a specialist bibliographic database or index for your subject.   To find one, use "Find Database" on OxLIP+ and browse by subject or refer to guides for your subject

To find journals by title:

 

  1. Choose Find E-Journal
     
  2. Enter the journal title or browse the A-Z.  Please note:
     
    • Enter the journal title not the article title
    • Its best to enter full words from the journal title rather than abbreviations. Although OxLIP+ recognises some abbreviations it does not recognise all of them!
    • OxLIP+ offers subject and citation search options for journal articles.   However, these can be unreliable. The best way to find journals is to search by title. 
  3. One or more links will appear to journals including the title you entered. Click on the appropriate link.
  4. You will see a list of one or more databases that hold the journal.  e.g. in the example below Human Rights Quarterly is held in "Chadwyck PAO Complete", "HeinOnline Law Journal Library", "JSTOR Arts and Sciences" and "Swetswise".

    Beneath each database you will see the date coverage (e.g. “available from 1995″, “available from 1981-2004″ etc).  Be sure to pay attention to the date range covered by each database before making your selection.  Some databases will have back issues but not necessarily the most recent issues, whilst others will have recent issues but not necessarily older ones!



    Beneath the list of databases you will find "Print holdings". These allow you to find out if we have a print copy in Oxford.
  5. Click on the title of your chosen database to connect.  

Searching by subject, citation and other options

You can also search Find e-Journal by Subject, Citation or "Other Options". However, these options are less reliable than searching by title. In particular, you should not assume that a journal is unavailable simply because you did not find it using the "by citation" option. Always search by title before concluding that a journal is not available online.

What if you can't find the journal that you want

If the journal you want is not available online then we may have it in print. On the e-Journals results screen click on SOLO under "Print holdings" or alternatively start a new search in SOLO.

If you still can’t find the journal please speak to a member of staff as we may be able to get it for you on inter library loan.

How should I find articles by subject, keyword or author

Find e-journals is useful for connecting to journals when you are looking for a particular journal title. If you want to search for articles by subject, keyword or author then it is best to search using a specialist database for your subject.  See Fnd Databases for more information or speak to your subject librarian,

Need help?

Looking for SOLO?
http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Looking for OxLIP+?
http://oxlip-plus.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/

Subject guidance
Consult our subject guides or contact your subject librarian.

Classes 
See our workshops timetable.

General help:

>Chat to a librarian on SOLO

>Email Ask an Oxford Librarian

>Telephone the main enquiry desk on (01865) 277162

Comments on this guide:
Email usered@bodleian.ox.ac.uk