Skip to main content

Finding and connecting to e-resources (e-books, e-journals & databases): Databases by title

Finding databases by title

If you already know the title of the database you wish to use (e.g. JSTOR, Lexis, Scopus, Web of Science, Historical Abstracts etc) you can easily connect to it from either SOLO (the Library catalogue) or OxLIP+ (Oxford A-Z of databases).  Both of these services have the same coverage of databases so it does not matter which one your choose. 

To find a database by title using SOLO, simply enter the name of the database in the search box (e.g. Scopus). If you get too many results try choosing Databases from the All Items drop down menu beneath the search box. Once you have found the database you wish to use click View Online.

To find a database by title using OxLIP+, either enter the name of the database in the search box or alternatively browse the A-Z.  Once you have found the database you wish to use click on the title to connect.

Oxlip by title

If you do not know which database you wish to use, see instruction for browsing databases by subject or other options.

Finding out more about databases and connecting in OxLIP+

To connect to a database double click on the title. If you are outside Oxford you may be prompted to “log in” at this stage.  Once you have connected you will be able to search or browse for materials.

For each database you will see the following options:

informaiton iconprovides more information about the coverage of the database and search tips

Add to my research iconallows you to add the database to "My Research".   "My Research" is your personal area on OxLIP+ and can only be accessed when you are logged on.  When you add a database to "My research" you will always be able to find it again by clicking the My Research tab. You can also organise your databases into folders or create cross-searchable quick sets (see CrossSearch for more information).

CrossSearch iconindicates that you can search the database from within OxLIP+ using CrossSearch (see CrossSearch for more information)

Sometimes you will see icons next to the title of the database.  These indicate that there is something special about the database (for example it might require a special password or particular softare). Refer to the "Legend" on the right of the SOLO screeen for more information.

Need help?

Looking for SOLO?
http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Looking for OxLIP+?
http://oxlip-plus.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/

Subject guidance
Consult our subject guides or contact your subject librarian.

Classes 
See our workshops timetable.

General help:

>Chat to a librarian on SOLO

>Email Ask an Oxford Librarian

>Telephone the main enquiry desk on (01865) 277162

Comments on this guide:
Email usered@bodleian.ox.ac.uk