Bodleian Libraries has extensive collections of e-books, e-journals and scholarly databases. You can search for and connect to these using SOLO or OxLIP+ Please use the notes below when deciding whether to use SOLO or OxLIP+
Finding an e-book
SOLO is the best tool for searching for individual e-books. It includes both modern e-books and older (mainly 19th century) books which were digitized as part of the Bodleian Google Book projects. > Instructions for SOLO for e-books
Finding an e-journal
You can use SOLO or OxLIP+ to find and connect to individual e-journals. The e-journal coverage is the same on SOLO and OxLIP+ so just choose your preferred interface. > Instructions for SOLO for e-journals | Instructions for OxLIP+ for e-journals
Finding scholarly databases when you know the title
You can use SOLO or OxLIP+ to find and connect to scholarly databases by title (e.g. Scopus, Web of Science, MLA etc). The database coverage is the same on SOLO and OxLIP+ so just choose your preferred interface. > Instructions for SOLO for databases (by title) | Instructions for OxLIP+ for databases (by title)
Finding scholarly databases in your subject area
OxLIP+ is the best tool for finding scholarly databases by subject. > Instructions for OxLIP+ for finding databases by subject
Searching across several databases at once using CrossSearch
OxLIP+ includes a tool called CrossSearch which allows you to perform a search across several databases at once. Although not all databases are covered this can be a quick way of searching a number of resources simultaneously. > Instructions for CrossSearch
Using e-resources when you are "off campus"
To use e-books, e-journals and databases when you are "off campus" you must sign in to SOLO or OxLIP+ using your Oxford Single Sign on (SSO). > Instructions.
Looking for SOLO?
See our workshops timetable.
>Chat to a librarian on SOLO
>Email Ask an Oxford Librarian
>Telephone the main enquiry desk on (01865) 277162
Comments on this guide: